Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Biology Directory


Department of Biology offices are located in the Life Sciences Centre (LSC)

Name

Email

Phone

Room

Dean
Dr. Chris Moore dean.science@dal.cal  (902) 494-3540 827
Acting Chair
Joe Bielawski biochair@dal.ca  (902) 494-7844 7058
Chair
Paul Bentzen biochair@dal.ca (902) 494-8089 2088
Administrative Officer
Julie Walker julie.walker@dal.cal  (902) 494-1059 2080
Office Staff
Deborah Henderson deborah.henderson@dal.ca  (902) 494-5105 2082
Aileen Patterson aileen.patterson@dal.ca  (902) 494-3515 2081
Carolyn Young carolyn.young@dal.ca  (902) 494-3514 2082
Faculty
Isabelle Aube iaube@dal.ca    (902) 494-3570 2123
Paul Bentzen paul.bentzen@dal.ca  (902) 494-1105 6052
Erin Bertrand erinbertrand@dal.ca (902) 494-1853 5089
Joe Bielawski j.bielawski@dal.ca  (902) 494-7844 7058
Todd Bishop todd.bishop@dal.ca  (902) 494-1696 2089  
Margaret Cooper mhcooper@dal.ca  (902) 494-8436 4014
Patrice Côté patrice.cote@dal.ca  (902) 494-1318 7124
Glenn Crossin gtc@dal.ca  (902) 494-4258 6062  
Gillian Gass gillian.gass@dal.ca  (902) 494-8445 2116  
Lara Gibson ldgibson@dal.ca  (902) 494-8817 5014  
Debra Grantham grantham@dal.ca    (902) 494-2464 6089
Arunika Gunawardena arunika.gunawardena@dal.ca  (902) 494-1594 6076B
Christophe Herbinger christophe.herbinger@dal.ca  (902) 494-1397 4058
Jeff Hutchings jeff.hutchings@dal.ca  (902) 494-2687 4076A
Sara Iverson sara.iverson@dal.ca  (902) 494-2566 4088
Mark Johnston mark.johnston@dal.ca  (902) 494-8005 7132
Pat Lane patricia.lane@dal.ca  (902) 494-6527 5130
Julie Laroche julie.laroche@dal.ca  (902) 494-4249 5047
Bob Latta robert.latta@dal.ca  (902) 494-2737 7076B
Marty Leonard marty.leonard@dal.ca  (902) 494-2158 4060
Heike Lotze heike.lotze@dal.ca  (902) 494-3406 7062
Tom MacRae tom.macrae@dal.ca  (902) 494-6525 6132
Nancy McAllister-Irwin nancy.mcallister-irwin@dal.ca  (902) 494-3818 6130  
Mindy McCarville mindy.mccarville@dal.ca  (902) 494-7072 7017  
Ron O'Dor ron.odor@dal.ca  (902) 494-2357 6741  
Alan Pinder alan.pinder@dal.ca  (902) 494-3822 4130  
Rajesh Rajaselvam rajesh.rajaselvam@dal.ca (902) 494-4251 3082
Daniel Ruzzante ruzzante@dal.ca  (902) 494-1688 4045
Bob Scheibling robert.scheibling@dal.ca  (902) 494-2296 3089
Allison Schmidt aschmidt@dal.ca  (902) 494-1638 4015
Alastair Simpson alastair.simpson@dal.ca  (902) 494-1247 5088
Cindy Staicer cindy.staicer@dal.ca  (902) 494-3533 7130
Sophia Stone sophia.stone@dal.ca  (902) 494-4541 5132
Stacey Thompson
stacey.lee.thompson@dal.ca (902) 494-2553 5089
Jennifer Van Dommelen jvandomm@dal.ca  (902) 494-1584 2124
Sandra Walde sandra.walde@dal.ca (902) 494-6432 (902) 494-2964 3132
Assoc. Dean
Elizabeth Welsh ewelsh@dal.ca (902) 494-7110 3130
(leave 7/1/16-6/30/16)
Hal Whitehead hal.whitehead@dal.ca (902) 494-3723 3076A
Boris Worm bworm@dal.ca (902) 494-2478 4132
Jonathan Wright j.m.wright@dal.ca (902) 494-6468 6087
Technical Support Staff
Ping Li ping.li@dal.ca (902) 494-3309 1055
John Lindley john.lindley@dal.ca (902) 494-1816 1814
Carman Mills carman.mills@dal.ca (902) 494-6537 8003 Greenhouse
Doug Mitchell mitcheds@dal.ca (902) 494-3530 2115
Amber Peck legerea@dal.ca (902) 494-2785 1027
Beverley Rodgerson bev.rodgerson@dal.ca (902) 494-2537 1018
Andrew Schofield a.schofield@dal.ca (902) 494-2551 2128
Jean Shou jshou@dal.ca (902) 494-4260 5017
Karen Smith karen.smith@dal.ca (902) 494-2785 1027
Rod Stewart   stewarra@dal.ca (902) 494-3580 1012 Stores
Laura Tatar LTatar@dal.ca (902) 494-2027
7016
 
Ocean Tracking Network
Fred Whoriskey fr362427@dal.ca (902) 494-4095 SOSB
Tracy Rounds tracy.rounds@dal.ca (902) 494-4101 SOSB
Kes Morton (Sr Proj Mgr) kes.morton@dal.ca (902) 494-4230 SOSB
Adjuncts
Colleen Barber colleen.barber@smu.ca (902) 420-5643 Saint Mary's University
Don Bowen bowend@mar.dfo-mpo.gc.ca (902) 426-8909 B.I.O.
Ian Bradbury ibradbur@me.com   Fisheries & Oceans
Hugh Broders hugh.broders@smu.ca (902) 426-8913 Saint Mary's University
Anne Dalziel   anne.dalziel@smu.ca (902) 420-5643 Saint Mary's University
Jan Davidsen                     jan.davidsen@ntnu.no (+47) 73 59 50 00 Norwegian Technical University
Timothy Ells tim.ells@agr.gc.ca   Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Tamara Franz-Odendaal tamara.franz odendaal@msvu.ca (902) 457-6140 Mount Saint Vincent
Timothy Frasier timothy.frasier@smu.ca   Saint Mary's University
Alan Fredeen alan.fredeen@dal.ca (902) 893-6649 NSAC
Rainer Froese rfoese@geomar.de   TOSST – GEOMAR
Helga Guderley Helga.guderley@bio.ulaval.ca   Universite of Laval
Mark Hipfner
mark.hipfner@canada.ca   Envir. & Climate Change, CA
Andy Horn
aghorn@dal.ca   Dalhousie (Biology)
Ellen Kenchington kenchingtone@mar.dfo-mpo.gc.ca (902) 426-2030 Fisheries & Oceans
Anna Kuparinen anna.kuparinen@helsinki.fi   Univ. of Helsinki
Robert Lee robert.lee@dal.ca (902) 494-2554 Dalhousie (Biology) 7050
Matt Litvak mlitvak@mta.ca   Mt. Allison University, NB
Oliver Love
olove@uwindsor.ca   University of Windsor, ON
Hilary Moor-Murphy hilary.moors-murphy@dfo-mpo.gc.ca   B.I.O., Fisheries & Oceans, Dart, NS
Mirwais Qaderi Mirwais.qaderi@msvu.ca               Mount Saint Vincent
Martin Quass quass@economics.uni-kiel.de   TOSST – University of Kiel, Germany
Robert Ronconi rronconi@dal.ca   Environmental Canada, Hlfx, NS
Neil Ross
neilrossphd@gmail.com (902) 240-3097 NovEel Inc., Halifax, NS
Tatiana Rossolimo trossoli@dal.ca   Faculty of Science, Dalhousie (Biology)
Ruth Schmitz-Streit rschmitz@ifam.uni-kiel.de   TOSST – University of Kiel, Germany
Nancy Shackell nancy.shackell@dfo-mo.gc.ca (902) 407-7538 B.I.O., 11 Challenger Drive, Dartmouth, NS
Marc Skinner marc.skinner@stantec.com   Stantec Consulting
Michael Stokesbury Michael.stokesbury@acadiau.ca   Acadia University
Doug Swain
swaind@dfo-mpo.gc.ca   Fisheries & Oceans (Gulf Fisheries), NB
Derek Tittensor derek.tittensor@unep-wcmc.org   World. Conser. Monitoring Ctr.
Lindy Wielgart lweilgar@dal.ca   Dalhousie University
Fred Whoriskey fr362427@dal.ca (902) 494-6741 Atlantic Salmon Federation
Adjunct Research Associates
Kathy Dunn kathy.dunn@dal.ca (902) 494-7844 Dalhousie University 7056
Cross-Appointed (Graduate Studies)
Shelley Adamo shelley.adamo@dal.ca (902) 494-8853 Psychology
Suzanne Budge suzanne.budge@dal.ca (902) 494-6010 Engineering & Applied Science, Dalhousie
David Burton dburton@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, NS
Claude Caldwell claude.caldwell@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, NS
Roger Croll roger.croll@dal.ca (902) 494-6417 Physiology & Biophysics
Chris Cutler
chris.cutler@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, NS
Yassinec El Hiani yassine.elhiani@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, NS
Vanya Ewart Vanya.ewart@dal.ca   Biochemistry & Molecular Biol, Dalhousie
Alan Fredeen alan.fredeen@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, NS
Shashi Gujar Shashi.gujar@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture,  NS
Rajesekaran Lada raj.lada@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, NS
Patrick Lee Patrick.lee@dal.ca   Microbiology, Dalhousie
Derek Lynch derek.lynch@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, NS
Nancy McLean nancy.mclean@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, NS
Ian Meinertzhagen i.a.meinertzhagen@dal.ca (902) 494-2131 Psychology Dalhousie
Anna Metaxas anna.metaxas@dal.ca (902) 494-3021 Oceanography Dalhousie
Sean Myles
seanmichaelmyles@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, NS
Villis Nams villis.nams@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, NS
Yousef Papadopoulos yapapado@dal.ca   Agriculture & Agri-Food, Canada, NS
David Percival david.percival@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, NS
Raj Prithiviraj   bprithiviraj@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, Truro, NS
Vasantha Rupasinghe virupasinghe@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, Truro, NS
Gefu Wang-Pruski          gefu.wang-pruski@dal.ca   Faculty of Agriculture, Truro, NS
Professors Emeriti
Brian Hall brian.hall@dal.ca (902) 494-3522 7088
Ian McLaren i.a.mclaren@dal.ca   7080
Ron O'Dor ron.odor@dal.ca  (902) 494-6741 7083
Part-time Academics (Winter 2017)
Chrisitine Angelidis chrisitine.angelidis@dal.ca   (BIOL3301W)
Jennifer Frail-Gauthier jfrail@dal.ca (902) 494-4541 (BIOL3301W)
Andy Horn aghorn@dal.ca (902) 494-2158 4060 (BIOL3062W)
Diego Ibarra diego.ibarra@dal.ca (902) 494-3557 (BIOL 3602)
Damian Lidgard damian.lidgard@dal.ca   (BIOL4060W)
Derek Tithensor derek.tithensor@dal.ca 902 494- (BIOL 3065W)
Tonya Wimmer twimmer@dal.ca   7023 (BIOL4060W)
Post Doctoral Fellows
Sebastian Hess shess@dal.ca (902) 494-1247
5080 (Alastair Simpson))
Christine Ward Paige   cwardpai@dal.ca    
Dara Orbach dorbach@dal.ca
(902 ) 494-3723 3083 (Hal Whitehead)
Grace Murphy Grace.Lotz@dal.ca (902)-494-3406 7062 (Heike Lotze)