Religious Studies Resources

The Study of Religion in Canada

The academic study of religion in Canada occurs in many venues and varieties. There are seven national-scale learned societies for the study of religion in Canada:

These societies are incorporated within the Canadian Corporation for Studies in Religion (CCSR), which owns and publishes the premier academic journal in Religious Studies within Canada, Studies in Religion/Sciences Religieuses, published by Sage.


Canadian Departments and Programs in Religious Studies / Sciences Religieuses

Atlantic Canada

New Brunswick
Mount Allison University:
St. Thomas University:


Memorial University Newfoundland:

Nova Scotia

Acadia University:
Cape Breton University:
Dalhousie University: (YOU ARE HERE!)
Mount St. Vincent:
St. Francis Xavier University:
St. Mary's University:

Prince Edward Island
University of Prince Edward Island:

East-Central Canada

Carleton University:
McMaster University:
Queen's University:
University of Ottawa:
University of Toronto:
University of Waterloo:
University of Western Ontario - King's:
Wilfrid Laurier University:
York University:

Bishop's University:
Concordia University:
McGill University:
Université de Montréal:
Université de Québec à Montréal:
Université de Sherbrooke:
Université Laval:

Western Canada

The University of Winnipeg:
University of Manitoba:

University of Regina:
University of Saskatchewan:

Athabasca University:
Mount Royal University:
University of Alberta:
University of Calgary:
University of Lethbridge:

British Columbia

Simon Fraser University:
Trinity Western University:
University of British Columbia:
University of Victoria:

Don't see your program or department listed here? Please contact Christopher Austin to request an update.