Michele Byers

Byers, Michele

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: michele.byers@smu.ca

Research topics:

  • Media and popular culture
  • Television studies
  • Canadian television
  • Cultural studies
  • Communication studies
  • Social theory
  • Gender and sexuality
  • Girl studies
  • Young adult literature
  • Ethnic studies
  • Jewish cultural studies
  • Feminist theory
  • Queer theory
  • Critical methodologies
  • Collective biography

Roberta Barker

Barker_alumni

Associate Director (Theatre), Associate Professor - Theatre Studies, Gender and Women's Studies (Cross Appointment), Canadian Studies (Cross Appointment)

Email: barkerr@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1495
Fax: 902-494-1499
Mailing Address: Room 524, Dal Arts Centre 6101 University Ave., PO Box 15000, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 4R2

 

Michael D'arcy

darcy

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: mdarcy@stfx.ca
Phone: (902)-867-4502
Mailing Address:
St Francis Xavier University
Antigonish, Nova Scotia
PO Box 5000
B2G 2W5

 

Research Topics

  • Twentieth-century British
  • French Literature
  • Irish Literature
  • Contemporary Liiterature
  • Media Studies
  • Film and Visual Culture
  • Literary Theory
  • Literature and Philosophy
  • History and Theory of the Novel
  • Postwar and Contemporary Art

 

Elizabeth Edwards

eedwards

Email: elizabeth.edwards@ukings.ca 
Phone: 902-422-1271 ext. 205 
Mailing Address: New Academic Building, University of King's College

Full Profile

Research topics:

  • Middle English literature
  • Critical theory
  • Modernist literature
  • Medieval literature

Alyda Faber


Email: alyda@ns.sympatico.ca
Phone: 902-423-2242
Mailing Address:

Atlantic School of Theology
660 Francklyn Street
Halifax, NS  B3H 3B5

Full Profile

Graham Fraser

gfraser

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: graham.fraser@msvu.ca
Phone:
902-457-6216
Mailing Address:
Mount Saint Vincent University
Seton 509
Halifax, NS

Full Profile

Research Topics:

  • Twentieth century literature, especially Modernism in literature and visual art
  • Samuel Beckett, James Joyce, Jean Rhys, and Virginia Woolf
  • Renaissance and modern drama
  • Psychogeography in literature and cultural practice; spectrality and metaphor
  • Failure, fragmentation, silence, and ruin in literature and aesthetic theory.

Jure Gantar

Jure Gantar

Professor- Theatre Studies
Department of English

Email: jgantar@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1142
Fax: 902-494-2801
Mailing Address:
Room 507, Dal Arts Centre
6101 University Ave., PO Box 15000
Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 4R2

Dorota Glowacka

dorota-glowacka2

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: dorota.glowacka@ukings.ca
Phone: 902-422-1271 ext. 206

Full Profile

Research topics:

  • Continental philosophy
  • Politics of memory
  • Holocaust and genocide literature and art
  • Critical race theory
  • Philosophy “after Auschwitz,”
  • Polish-Jewish relations.

Ann-Barbara Graff

Ann_Barbara_Graff_2.jpeg

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: abgraff@nscad.ca
Phone: 902.494.8123
Mailing Address:
NSCAD University
D302 5163 Duke Street
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Research topics:

  • Victorian Literature
  • Gender Studies
  • Evolution and Literature
  • Digital Humanities

Reina Green


Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: reina.green@msvu.ca
Phone: 902-457-6231
Mailing Address:
Mount Saint Vincent University

Full Profile

Research topics:

  • Early Modern literature
  • English renaissance drama
  • Canadian theatre and performance

Teresa Heffernan

teresaheffernan

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: teresa.heffernan@smu.ca
Phone: 902-496-8294
Mailing Address:
McNally 331, Saint Mary's University

Full Profile

Research topics:

  • Modernist literature
  • Feminism
  • Science fiction
  • Contemporary fiction
  • Canadian literature

David Howard

davidhoward

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: dhoward@nscad.ca
Phone: (902) 494-8134
Mailing Address:
Nova Scotia College of Art & Design

Full Profile

Research topics:

  • Modernist literature
  • Visual culture, representation and art history
  • Visual art and literature

Renee Hulan

Hulan

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: renee.hulan@smu.ca
Phone: 902.420.5690
Mailing Address:
McNally 329, Saint Mary's University

Full Profile

Research topics:

  • Canadian literature
  • Aboriginal peoples in Canada
  • Contemporary Canadian poetry
  • Northern Canada

Sean Kennedy

seankennedy-headshot

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: sean.kennedy@smu.ca
Phone: (902) 496-8269 
Mailing Address:
McNally Building, Room 326, Saint Mary's University 

Full Profile

Research topics:

  • Irish studies
  • Modernist literature

Shao-Pin Luo

shao-pin

Assistant Professor; Coordinator Chinese Studies Program; Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: sluo@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3197
Office: McCain 3021


Full Profile

Karen MacFarlene

karen

Adjunct Professor
Department of English

Office: Seton 519
Phone: 902-457-6727
E-mail:  karen.macfarlane@msvu.ca

Full Profile

Research topics:

  • The Gothic
  • Gender studies
  • Victorian literature
  • Queer theory
  • Science fiction

Yana Meerzon

Summer 2018 184

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: ymeerzon@uOttawa.ca
Phone: 613 562-5800, ext. 2243
Mailing Address:
Department of Theatre, University of Ottawa
135 Séraphin-Marion, Room 304B
Ottawa ON Canada, K1N 6N5

Director: Studies in Migration Research Group
http://artsites.uottawa.ca/studies-migration/en

Webpage: www.theatre.uottawa.ca/eng/faculty/meerzon.html

Full Profile

Research topics:

  • Drama and performance theory
  • Theatre of exile and migration
  • Cultural and interdisciplinary studies
  • Practical dramaturgy.

Publications
A Path of the Character: Michael Chekhov's Inspired Acting and Theatre Semiotics (2005); and Performing Exile – Performing Self: Drama, Theatre, Film (2012). She also co-edited Performance, Exile and ‘America’ Adapting Chekhov: The Text and Its Mutations History, Memory, Performance ; and Routledge Companion to Michael Chekhov. A special issue of Theatre Research in Canada on theatre and immigration was published in 2015. Her current project is on Performance and Cosmopolitanism.

Sara Malton

saramalton

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: sara.malton@smu.ca
Mailing Address:
Department of English, Saint Mary's University

Full Profile

Research topics:

  • Victorian literature
  • The novel

Dana Mount

MOunt, Dana

Adjunct Graduate Faculty
Department of English
Email: dana_mount@cbu.ca

Full Profile

Pádraig Ó Siadhail

PadraigOSiadhail

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: padraig.osiadhail@smu.ca
Phone: 902-420-5782
Mailing Address:
McNally 202-C, Saint Mary's University

Full Profile

Research Topics:

  • Irish studies
  • Folklore
  • Contemporary fiction

Russell Perkin


Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: russell.perkin@smu.ca
Phone: (902) 420-5714 
Mailing Address:
McNally North 313, Saint Mary's University

Full Profile

Research topics:

  • The post-1945 British novel
  • Victorian literature
  • Religion and literature
  • Theory of literary history

Goran Stanivukovic

Goran

Adjunct Professor

Email: Goran.Stanivukovic@smu.ca
Phone:
(902) 420-5708
Mailing Address:

Saint Mary’s University
923 Robie Street
Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3H 3C3

Full Profile

Deborah Stiles

deborah stiles

Adjunct Professor
Associate Professor - Humanities
Department of English

Email: deborah.stiles@dal.ca
Phone: 902-893-6705
Mailing Address:
58 Rock Garden Road
PO Box 550
Truro, NS B2N 5E3

Full Profile

Jennifer Vanderburgh

jennifervanderburgh

Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: jennifer.vanderburgh@smu.ca
Phone: 902-420-5718
Mailing Address:
Saint Mary's University

Full Profile

Research Topics:

  • Film studies
  • Cinema and media studies

Ariel Watson


Adjunct Professor
Department of English
Email: ariel.watson@smu.ca
Phone: (902) 420-5286
Mailing Address:
Saint Mary's University Department of English 923 Robie Street Halifax, NS B3H 3C3 

Full Profile

Research Topics:

  • Irish Studies
  • Twentieth and Twenty first century drama
  • Metatheatre and Spectatorship
  • Psychotherapy and documentary theatre
  • Intersections between theatre, film, and television