Faculty & Staff

Dean

Name Email Office Phone
Dr. A. Rau-Chaplin arc@cs.dal.ca 105 902-494-2732
Stephanie Margetts (Executive Assistant to the Dean) smargetts@dal.ca 104 902-494-4342

Associate Deans

Name Email Office Phone
Dr. Christian Blouin (Associate Dean Academic) cblouin@cs.dal.ca 224 902-401-6334
Dr. Nur Zincir-Heywood (Associate Dean Research) zincir@cs.dal.ca 215 902-494-3157

Faculty


Professors

Name Email Office Phone
Dr. Raza Abidi ssrabidi@dal.ca 220 902-494-2129
Dr. Dirk Arnold dirk@cs.dal.ca 4205 (MC) 902-494-2691
Dr. Robert Beiko beiko@cs.dal.ca 4232 (MC) 902-494-8043
Dr. J. Blustein jamie@cs.dal.ca  4203 (MC) 902-494-6104
Dr. Peter Bodorik bodorik@cs.dal.ca 316 902-494-6452
Dr. Stephen Brooks sbrooks@cs.dal.ca 4206 (MC) 902-494-2512
Dr. Lizbeth Escobedo lz750872@dal.ca    
Dr. Richard Evans (BACS Program Director) r.evans@dal.ca 317  
Dr. Travis Gagie travis.gagie@dal.ca MC 4242 902-494-7083
Dr. Israat Haque israat@dal.ca 320 902-494-1695  
Dr. Meng He mhe@cs.dal.ca 4245 (MC) 902-494-4056
Dr. Carlos Hernandez-Castillo
carlos.hernandez@dal.ca 438  
Dr. Malcolm Heywood mheywood@cs.dal.ca 214 902-494-2951
Dr. Vlado Keselj (MDI Program Director) vlado@cs.dal.ca 432 902-494-2893
Dr. Mayra Barrera Machuca mbarrera@dal.ca    
Dr. Finlay Maguire finlay.maguire@dal.ca 4239 (MC)    
Dr. Joseph Malloch jmalloch@dal.ca 4243 (MC) 902-494-7083
Dr. Stan Matwin stan@cs.dal.ca 452 902-494-4320
Dr. Michael McAllister (MACS Program Co-Director) mcallist@cs.dal.ca 307 902-494-3151
Dr. Evangelos E. Milios eem@cs.dal.ca 436 902-494-7111
Dr. Sageev Oore sageev@dal.ca 315 902-494-1498
Dr. Rita Orji rita.orji@dal.ca 4207 (MC) 902-494-1677
Dr. Eric Poitras eric.poitras@dal.ca 209 902-494-1599
Dr. Masud Rahman masud.rahman@dal.ca 218  
Dr. Paul Ralph paulralph@dal.ca 216 902-494-2873
Dr. Derek Reilly reilly@cs.dal.ca 4204 (MC) 902-494-4057
Dr. Frank Rudzicz frank@dal.ca    
Dr. Hassan Sajjad hsajjad@dal.ca 433  
Dr. Srinivas Sampalli srini@cs.dal.ca 319 902-494-1657
Dr. Tushar Sharma tushar@dal.ca 217  
Dr. Yujie Tang
yujie.tang@dal.ca
434  
Dr. Luis Torgo ltorgo@dal.ca 435 902-494-2845
Dr. T. Trappenberg tt@cs.dal.ca 314 902-494-3087
Dr. Rina Wehbe rina.wehbe@dal.ca 4216 (MC)  
Dr. Chris Whidden cwhidden@dal.ca 4244 (MC)  
Dr. Ga Wu ga.wu@dal.ca    
Dr. Qiang Ye qye@cs.dal.ca 318 902-494-4377
Dr. Norbert Zeh nzeh@cs.dal.ca 4246 (MC) 902-494-3154

Instructors

Name Email Office Phone
Dr. Khurram Aziz kaziz@dal.ca 205 902-494-4287
Dr. Alex Brodsky al713830@dal.ca 208 902-494-2501
Andrew Cochran ac@dal.ca 308  
Dr. Corey DeGagné DeGagne@dal.ca 226  
Dr. Saurabh Dey saurabh.dey@dal.ca 303 902-402-3205
Mr. James Fleming (Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Students) jfleming@cs.dal.ca 203 902-494-7464
Michael Goudreault michaelg@dal.ca 305  
Robert Hawkey
rhawkey@dal.ca 219 902-494-3356
Carla Heggie carla.heggie@dal.ca 304 902-718-6543
Dr. N. Kalyaniwalla nauzerk@cs.dal.ca 221 902-494-2841
Dr. Bonnie MacKay bmackay@cs.dal.ca 223 902-494-2509
Dr. Yannick Marchand marchand@cs.dal.ca 204 902-494-1989
Dr. Tami Meredith tami.meredith@dal.ca 225  
Gabriella Mosquera mosquera@cs.dal.ca 227 902-494-1832
Dr. Sukhchandan (MACS Program Co-Director) sk350901@dal.ca 305  
Dr. Raghav Sampangi raghav@cs.dal.ca 222  
Dr. Angela Siegel (Assistant Dean, Academic Outreach) siegel@dal.ca 207  

Professor Emeritus

Name Email Office Phone
Dr. Michael Shepherd shepherd@cs.dal.ca    
Dr. Jacob Slonim slonim@cs.dal.ca    
Dr. Carolyn R. Watters watters@cs.dal.ca    


Adjunct and Cross-Appointed Faculty
 

Adjunct (Scholar) Appointments

Name Email Office Phone
Dr. Marwa Elsayad       

Adjunct Faculty

Name Email Location
Dr. Ashraf Abusharekh   Swiss Re Company Ltd.
Dr. Riyad Alshammari alshammarir@ksau-hs.edu.sa King Saud Bin Abdulaziz University
Dr. Amjad Alshirhani amjadalsirhani@ju.edu.sa Jouf University
Dr. O. Baltzer obaltzer@cs.dal.ca Analyze Re
Renata Dividino dividino@dal.ca Global Spatial Tech. Solutions
Dr. Elham Etemad e.etemad@dal.ca Salesforce
Dr. Ricarrdo Guidotti Riccardo.guidotti@unipi.it University of PEI
Carla Heggie   Dalhousie University
Dr. Ines Hessler ines.hesler@gmail.com Institute for Big Data Analytics
Dr. Dawn Jutla dawn.jutla@gmail.com Saint Mary's University
Dr. Hilmi Kayacik kayacik@gmail.com Aruba Networks
Dr. Oliver Kirsebom oliver.kirsebom@gmail.com Institute for Big Data Analytics
Dr. William Klement William.klement@blood.ca Canadian Blood Services
Dr. Dijana Kosmajac           Dash Hudson
Dr. Kai Liu  kailiu@dal.ca University of Prince Edward Island
Dr. Vladimir Lucic vladimir.lucic@btopenworld.com Macquarie Group
Dr Xiao Luo luo270@purdue.edu Purdue University
Dr. Ana Maguitman agm@cs.uns.edu.ar   Universidad Nacional Del Sur
Dr. Tokunbo Makanju amakanju@nyit.edu NY Institute of Technology
Dr. Jaume Manero jaume.manero@dal.ca Technical University of Catalonia
Dr. Frederic Massicotte   Cdn. Centre for Cyber Security
Dr. Timothy McAllister tim.mcallister@canada.ca Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Dr. Andrew McIntyre armcnty@cs.dal.ca Acadia University
Dr. Anna Monreale anna.monreale@unipi.it University of Pisa
Dr. Enayat Rajabi rajabi@dal.ca Cape Breton University
Dr. Patrice Roy   Dalhousie University
Dr. Jeff Schwartzentruber jeff.schwartzentruber@ensitre.coom eSentire Inc.
Dr. Ehsan Sherkat   Dalhousie University
Dr. Danny Silver danny.silver@acadiau.ca Acadia University  
Dr. Amilcar Soares amilcarsj@mun.ca Memorial University
Dr. Axel Soto axel.soto@cs.uns.edu.ar Institute de Ciencias e Ing. De la Computation
Dr. Hai Wang  hai.wang@smu.ca      Saint Mary’s University
Dr. Garnett Wilson   Verafin Inc.
Dr. William Van Woensel   Dalhousie University
Dr. Jamileh Yousefi    Jamileh_Yousefi@cbu.ca University of Cape Breton
Dr. Mark Zarb m.zarb@rgu.ac.uk Robert Gordon University

Cross-Appointed Faculty

Name Email Office Phone
Dr. Samina Abidi    Community Health & Epidemiology  
Dr. Darren Abramsom    Philosopy  
Dr. Craig Brown   Oceanography  
Dr. Colin Conrad   School of Information Management  
Dr. Gail Eskes   Psychiatry  
Dr. Jeannette Janssen jeannette.janssen@dal.ca Math/Stats 902-494-8851
Dr. Christian Lehmann   Pharmacology  
Dr. Sandra Meier   Psychiatry  
Dr. Abraham Nunes   Psychiatry  
Dr. Tara Sampalli   Medicine  
Dr. Peter Selinger peter.selinger@dal.ca Math/Stats 902-494-3311
Dr. Mae Seto mae.seto@dal.ca Mechanical Engineering 902-494-6194
Dr. Mike Smit mike.smit@dal.ca School of Information Management  
Dr. Grant Wach grant.wach@dal.ca Earth Sciences 902-494-8019
Dr. David Zitner   Medicine  


Staff

 

Academic Administration 

Name Job Title Email Office Phone
Anne Publicover Faculty Administrator annep@cs.dal.ca 313 902-494-1199
Angie Bolivar Undergraduate Program Administrator angie@cs.dal.ca 330  
Michelle Kirkwood Undergraduate Program Assistant michelle.kirkwood@dal.ca 330  
Jeremy Macek Undergraduate Program Assistant jeremy.macek@dal.ca 330  
Shelly Simpson Undergraduate Student Advisor shelly.simpson@dal.ca 239 902-221-3789
Heather Gallant Graduate Administrator heather.gallant@dal.ca 330  
Linda Guy Graduate Administrator linda.guy@dal.ca 330  
Vidhya Ramamoorthy Graduate Administrator vidhya.ramamoorthy@dal.ca 330  
Nina Hindrichs Administrative Assistant nhindrichs@dal.ca 239  
Stephanie Patton Academic Program Clerk s.patton@dal.ca 330  
Stephanie Bernier Educational Developer sbernier@dal.ca 239 902-225-8453
Cathy Schroeder Education Technology Specialist cshroeder@dal.ca 239  
Megan Baker Lab Coordinator meganbaker@dal.ca 308  

Advancement

Name Job Title Email Office Phone
Laura Clark Assistant Dean, Advancement laura.clark@dal.ca 213 902-223-4958

Engagement and Communications

Name Job Title Email Office Phone
Becca Rawcliffe Director of Engagement and Communications r.rawcliffe@dal.ca 326 902-494-7713
Andrea Hart Communications and Marketing Officer  andrea.hart@dal.ca 336  
Amanda Kolwich Undergraduate Recruitment and Community Engagement Manager akolwich@dal.ca 321 902-237-3523
Tarika Shastry Graduate Recruitment Manager tarika@dal.ca 323 902-499-7925
Austin Zhang Student Engagement Manager austin.zhang@dal.ca 325  
Aishwarya Shrestha Partnerships and Engagement Officer a.shrestha@dal.ca 336  

Finance

Name Job Title Email Office Phone
Margie Publicover Director of Finance margie@cs.dal.ca 324 902-494-7069
Lorna Curnew Payroll & Finance Coordinator  lorna.curnew@dal.ca 336  

HR

Name Job Title Email Office Phone
Emily Wishart HR Advisor emily.wishart@dal.ca 327  

Research

Name Job Title Email Office Phone
Heather Elliott Research Facilitator heather.elliott@dal.ca 323 902-497-2738
David Langstroth Development and Communications Manager (Institute for Big Data Analytics) dll@cs.dal.ca 451 902-494-8087

ShiftKey Labs

Name Job Title Email Office Phone
Jennifer LaPlante Executive Director jlaplante@dal.ca    
Lucija Prelovec Communications Coordinator lucija.prelovec@dal.ca    

Technical Services

Name Job Title Email Office Phone
Devi Swathi Director of Tech Services and Infrastructure deviswathi@dal.ca 309 902-223-0105
Jeremy Dempsey Infrastructure Lead jeremy.dempsey@dal.ca

311 902-225-5608
Jeff Allen Systems Administrator jeff.allen@dal.ca 311 902-494-3835
Chris Maxwell Systems Administrator chris.maxwell@dal.ca 311 902-225-2877
Phylip Munroe Help Desk Technician phylip.munroe@dal.ca
135 902-494-2593