Academic Advising

 

Consult your department's academic advisor if you require specific advice about your major, honours options and program requirements.

If you need general advice about bursaries or admissions, please consult with an advisor in the Registrar's Office. If you need general advice about course selection and registration, please make an appointment with an academic advisor in Student Affairs.

For academic problems that require a specific waiver (determined at the Registrar's Office) or for those cases that have been specifically referred, students shall consult the Assistant Dean of Student Matters at asstdeanfass@dal.ca or 902-494-1440.

Students who wish to appeal the decisions of, or the refusal to make decisions by, the Faculty regarding academic standards, academic evaluation, academic progression, academic advancement, or the application of academic regulations should consult the FASS Academic Appeals Procedures and the FASS Academic Appeals Procedures Flowchart in the FASS Rules and Procedures Handbook (Appendix II, Section IX.II).

Undergraduate advisors 2021-2022

Department

Title

Name

Phone & Email

Arabic Advisor Dr. Rodica Firanescu 902-494-3342
Rodica.Firanescu@dal.ca
Chinese Advisor Dr. Yanfei Li
chin@dal.ca

Classics

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Leona MacLeod 

902-494-2280
Leona.MacLeod@dal.ca

Canadian Studies

Undergraduate  Coordinator

Contact Department 902-494-2221
CANA@dal.ca

Contemporary Studies

Program Director

Dr. Dorota Glowacka 

902-442-1271 ext. 20
dorota.glowacka@ukings.ca

Early Modern Studies

Program Director

Dr. Kathryn Morris

902-422-1271, ext. 207
kathryn.morris@ukings.ca

English

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Anthony Enns

902-494-1865
anthony.enns@dal.ca
European Studies Coordinator Dr. Gregory Hanlon 902-494-3642
gregory.hanlon@dal.ca

Film Studies/Cinema and Media Studies

Coordinator

Dr. David Nicol

902-494-1491
fspa.cinema@dal.ca

French

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Vincent Simedoh

902-494-6805
vincent.simedoh@dal.ca
Gender & Women's Studies Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator Dr. Liesl Gambold 902-494-3689
liesl.gambold@dal.ca or GWST@dal.ca

German

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Brigid Garvey

902-494-1095
brigid.garvey@dal.ca

History

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Chris Bell

902-494-3586
bellcm@dal.ca

History of Science and Technology

Director

Dr. Kyle Fraser

902-422-1271, ext. 230
kyle.fraser@dal.ca
Indigenous Studies Coordinator Dr. Margaret Robinson
margaret.robinson@dal.ca

International Development Studies

Undergraduate & Honours  Coordinator

Dr. Ajay Parasram 902-494-2167
parasram@dal.ca

Italian Studies

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Paolo Matteucci

902-494-3354
paolo.matteucci@dal.ca

Journalism

Undergraduate Coordinator

Tim Currie

902-422-1271 ext. 187
tim.currie@ukings.ca
Law, Justice and Society
Undergraduate Coordinator Dr. Margaret Denike
902-494-6298
m.denike@dal.ca
ljso@dal.ca

Music

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinators

Chris Mitchell (Fall term) 

902.494.6394
fspa.music@dal.ca

Philosophy

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Kirstin Borgerson

902-494-3338
kirstin.borgerson@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Chike Jeffers

902-494-3547 chike.jeffers@dal.ca
  Transfer Credits Tyler Hildebrand 902-494-8498
hildebrand@dal.ca

Political Science

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Anders Hayden 

902 494 6602
Anders.Hayden@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Robert Finbow 902-494-6606
robert.finbow@dal.ca 

Religious Studies

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Alexander Treiger

902-494-3493

atreiger@dal.ca

Russian

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Yuri Leving

902-494-6923
yleving@dal.ca
Sociology and Social Anthropology Undergraduate Coordinator Dr. Robin Oakley 902-494-6807
oakleyr@dal.ca
  Undergraduate Advisors Dr. Martha Radice 902-494-6747
martha.radice@dal.ca
  Honours Advisor Dr. Emma Whelan  902-494-6752
emma.whelan@dal.ca

Spanish

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Professor Cristina Rafales 

902-494-6357
crafales@dal.ca
Sustainability Advisors Kaarin Tae 902-494-7860
essadvising@dal.ca

Theatre

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Roberta Barker 

902 494 1254
fspa.theatre@dal.ca

 

 

Graduate Advisors 2021-2022

Department
Graduate Advisor Phone & email
Classics

Dr. Emily Varto

902-494-2277
e.varto@dal.ca
English

Dr. Bart Vautour

902-494-3898
bart.vautour@dal.ca

French Dr. Jasmina Milicevic 
902 494 1720
Jasmina.Milicevic@Dal.Ca
History Dr. Colin Mitchell

902-494-2788
c.mitchell@dal.ca

International Development Studies Dr. Matthew Schnurr

902-494-7562
matthew.schnurr@dal.ca

Journalism Tim Currie 902-422-1271 ext. 187
tim.currie@ukings.ca
Musicology Barbara Swanson
fspa.gradstudies&research@dal.ca
Philosophy

Dr. Greg Scherkoske

902-494-3520
greg.scherkoske@dal.ca
Political Science Dr. Kristin Good 902-494-1944
kristin.good@dal.ca
Sociology & Social Anthropology Dr. Brian Noble

902-494-2819
brian.noble@dal.ca