Academic Advising

 

Consult your department's academic advisor if you require specific advice about your major, honours options and program requirements.

If you need general advice about bursaries or admissions, please consult with an advisor in the Registrar's Office. If you need general advice about course selection and registration, please make an appointment with an academic advisor in Student Affairs.

For academic problems that require a specific waiver (determined at the Registrar's Office) or for those cases that have been specifically referred, students shall consult the Assistant Dean of Student Matters at asstdeanfass@dal.ca or 902-494-1440.

Students who wish to appeal the decisions of, or the refusal to make decisions by, the Faculty regarding academic standards, academic evaluation, academic progression, academic advancement, or the application of academic regulations should consult the FASS Academic Appeals Procedures and the FASS Academic Appeals Procedures Flowchart in the FASS Rules and Procedures Handbook (Appendix II, Section IX.II).

Undergraduate advisors 2022-2023

Department

Title

Name

Phone & Email

Arabic Advisor Dr. Rodica Firanescu 902-494-3342
Rodica.Firanescu@dal.ca
Chinese Advisor   Jing Wang
902-494-1082
chin@dal.ca

Classics

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Jack Mitchell

902-494-1863
Jack.Mitchell@dal.ca
 

Canadian Studies

Undergraduate  Coordinator

Dr. Chris Elson 902-494-6812
Chris.Elson@dal.ca or
CANA@dal.ca
 

Contemporary Studies

Program Director

Stephen Boos

902-442-1271 ext. 214
stephen.boos@ukings.ca
Creative Writing Advisor Dr. Heather Jessup 902-494-3331
heather.jessup@dal.ca

Early Modern Studies

Program Director

Dr. Kathryn Morris

902-422-1271, ext. 207
kathryn.morris@ukings.ca

English

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Trevor Ross

trevor.ross@dal.ca
European Studies Coordinator Dr. Chris Elson 902-494-6812
chris.elson@dal.ca or
euro@dal.ca

Film Studies/Cinema and Media Studies

Coordinator

Dr. Shannon Brownlee

902-494-1490
fspa.cinema@dal.ca

French

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Patricia Lee Men Chin

902-494-1527
leemenchin@dal.ca
Gender & Women's Studies Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator Dr. Liesl Gambold 902-494-3689
Liesl.Gambold@Dal.Ca or GWST@dal.ca

German

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Brigid Garvey

902-494-1095
brigid.garvey@dal.ca

History

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Denis Kozlov

902-494-3579
denis.kozlov@dal.ca

History of Science and Technology

Director

Dr. Kyle Fraser

902-422-1271, ext. 230
kyle.fraser@dal.ca
Indigenous Studies Coordinator Dr. Margaret Robinson 902-495-1824
mrobinson@dal.ca or INDG@dal.ca

International Development Studies

Undergraduate & Honours  Coordinator

Dr. Nissim Mannathukkaren 902-494-2110
nmannathukkaren@dal.ca

Italian Studies

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Paolo Matteucci

902-494-3354
paolo.matteucci@dal.ca

Journalism

Undergraduate Coordinator

Tim Currie

902-422-1271 ext. 187
tim.currie@ukings.ca
Law, Justice and Society
Undergraduate Coordinator Dr. Margaret Denike
902-494-6298
m.denike@dal.ca
ljso@dal.ca

Music

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinators

Leonardo Perez 

902.494.3489
fspa.music@dal.ca

Philosophy

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Kirstin Borgerson

902-494-3338
kirstin.borgerson@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Chike Jeffers

902-494-3547 chike.jeffers@dal.ca
  Transfer Credits Stephanie Kapusta 902-494-3541
stephanie.kapusta@dal.ca

Political Science

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Anders Hayden 

902 494 6602
Anders.Hayden@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Brian Bow

902-494-6629

Brian.Bow@dal.ca

Religious Studies

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Alexander Treiger

902-494-3493
atreiger@dal.ca

Russian

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

 

Diana Pifano
902-494-6954
rusn@dal.ca
Sociology and Social Anthropology Undergraduate Coordinator Dr. Martha Radice 902-494-6747
martha.radice@dal.ca
  Undergraduate Advisors

Dr. Jonathan Amoyaw

Dr. Liesl Gambold

902-494-6751
jonathan.amoyaw@dal.ca

902-494-3689
liesl.gambold@dal.ca

  Honours Advisor Dr. Fiona Martin  902-494-6750
f.martin@dal.ca

Spanish

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Professor Cristina Rafales 

902-494-6357
crafales@dal.ca
Sustainability Advisors Kaarin Tae 902-476-9096
essadvising@dal.ca

Theatre

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. David Nicol

902-494-1491
fspa.theatre@dal.ca

 

 

Graduate Advisors 2022-2023

Department
Graduate Advisor Phone & email
Classics

Dr. Peter O’Brien

902-494-2295
Classics.GraduateEducation@dal.ca
English

Dr. Alice Brittan

alice.brittan@dal.ca

French Dr. Jasmina Milicevic 
902-494-1720
jmilicev@dal.ca
History Dr. Colin Mitchell

902-494-2788
c.mitchell@dal.ca

International Development Studies Dr. Robert Huish

902-494-2979
huish@dal.ca

Journalism Tim Currie 902-422-1271 ext. 187
tim.currie@ukings.ca
Musicology Dr. Jacqueline Warwick 902-494-1142
adresgrd@dal.ca
Philosophy

Dr. Greg Scherkoske
on sabbatical leave,
July 1, 2022-June 30, 2023

Letitia Meynell
interim advisor, 
July 1, 2022-June 30, 2023

902-494-3520
greg.scherkoske@dal.ca


902-494-3536
letitia.meynell@dal.ca

Political Science Dr. Kristin Good 902-494-1944
kristin.good@dal.ca
Sociology & Social Anthropology Dr. Brian Noble

902-494-2819
brian.noble@dal.ca