Academic Advising

 

Consult your department's academic advisor if you require specific advice about your major, honours options and program requirements.

If you need general advice about bursaries or admissions, please consult with an advisor in the Registrar's Office. If you need general advice about course selection and registration, please make an appointment with an academic advisor in Student Affairs.

For academic problems that require a specific waiver (determined at the Registrar's Office) or for those cases that have been specifically referred, students shall consult the Assistant Dean of Student Matters at asstdeanfass@dal.ca or 902-494-1440.

Undergraduate advisors 2018-2019

Department

Title

Name

Phone & Email

Arabic Advisor Rodica Firanescu 902-494-3342
Rodica.Firanescu@dal.ca
Chinese Advisor Shao-Pin Luo 902-494-3197
sluo@dal.ca

Classics

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Emily Varto

902-494-2277
e.varto@dal.ca

Canadian Studies

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Jerry Bannister 902-494-1541
jerry.bannister@dal.ca

Contemporary Studies

Program Director

Dr. Dorota Glowacka

902-422-1271, ext. 206
dorota.glowacka@ukings.ca

Early Modern Studies

Undergraduate & Honours Advisor

Dr. Simon Kow

902-422-1271, ext. 156
simon.kow@ukings.ca

English

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Alice Brittan

902-494-6780
alice.brittan@dal.ca
European Studies Coordinator Dr. Jerry White 902-494-3628
jerry.white@dal.ca

Film Studies/Cinema and Media Studies

Coordinator

Dr. Shannon Brownlee

902-494-1490
shannon.brownlee@dal.ca

French

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Vittorio Frigerio

902-494-6805
vittorio.frigerio
@dal.ca
Gender & Women's Studies Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator Dr. Liesl Gambold 902-494-3689
liesl.gambold@dal.ca or GWST@dal.ca

German

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Brigid Garvey

902-494-1095
Brigid.Garvey@Dal.Ca

History

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Chris Bell

902-494-3586
bellcm@dal.ca

History of Science and Technology

Director

Dr. Gordon McOuat

902-422-1271, ext. 216
gmcouat@dal.ca

International Development Studies

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinators

Dr. Robert Huish 902-494-2979
huish@dal.ca
    Marian MacKinnon 902-494-3814 Marian.MacKinnon@Dal.Ca

Italian Studies

Undergraduate Coordinator

Paolo Matteucci

902-494-3354
paolo.matteucci@dal.ca

Journalism

Undergraduate Coordinator

Kelly Toughill

902-422-1271 ext. 185
kelly.toughill@ukings.ca
Law, Justice and Society
Undergraduate Coordinator Stephanie Kapusta 902-494-3541
stephanie.kapusta@dal.ca
ljso@dal.ca

Music

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinators

Dr. Steven Baur

902-494-6502
steven.baur@dal.ca

Philosophy

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Kirstin Borgerson

902-494-3338
kirstin.borgerson@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Chike Jeffers

902-494-3547 chike.jeffers@dal.ca

Political Science

Undergraduate Coordinator

Anders Hayden

902-494-6602
anders.hayden@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Robert Finbow 902-494-6606
robert.finbow@dal.ca 

Religious Studies

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Alexander Treiger

902-494-3493
atreiger@dal.ca

Russian

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Shao-Pin Luo

902-494-3197
sluo@dal.ca
Sociology and Social Anthropology Undergraduate Coordinator Dr. Yoko Yoshida 902-494-3534 yoko.yoshida@dal.ca
  Undergraduate Advisors Laura Eramian 902-494-6754
LEramian@Dal.Ca
    Liz Fitting 902-494-6346
elizabeth.fitting@dal.ca
 

Honours Advisor

Dr. Martha Radice

902-494-6747
martha.radice@dal.ca

Spanish

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Maria José Giménez

902-494-7124
spanish.advising@dal.ca
Sustainability Advisors Kaarin Tae 902-494-7860
essadvising@dal.ca

Theatre

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. David Nicol
902-494-1491
david.nicol@dal.ca


 

Graduate Advisors 2018-2019

Department
Graduate Advisor Phone & email
Classics

Dr. Eli Diamond

902-494-2294
Eli.Diamond@dal.ca 
English

Dr. Leonard Diepeveen

902-494-3331
leonard.diepeveen@dal.ca

French Dr. Vincent.Masse
902-494-6808
Vincent.Masse@dal.ca
History Dr. Colin Mitchell

902-494-2788
colin.mitchell@dal.ca

International Development Studies Dr. John Cameron

902-494-7011
John.Cameron@dal.ca

Journalism Dr. Tim Currie 902-422-1271 ext. 187
tim.currie@ukings.ca
Musicology Dr. Jure Gantar 902-494-1616
jure.gantar@dal.ca
Philosophy

Dr. Greg Scherkoske

902-494-3520
greg.scherkoske@dal.ca
Political Science Dr. Katherine Fierlbeck 902-494-6631
K.Fierlbeck@dal.ca
Sociology & Social Anthropology Dr. Fiona Martin

902-494-6750
fiona.martin@dal.ca