Academic Advising

 

Consult your department's academic advisor if you require specific advice about your major, honours options and program requirements.

If you need general advice about bursaries or admissions, please consult with an advisor in the Registrar's Office. If you need general advice about course selection and registration, please make an appointment with an academic advisor in Student Affairs.

For academic problems that require a specific waiver (determined at the Registrar's Office) or for those cases that have been specifically referred, students shall consult the Assistant Dean of Student Matters at asstdeanfass@dal.ca or 902-494-1440.

Students who wish to appeal the decisions of, or the refusal to make decisions by, the Faculty regarding academic standards, academic evaluation, academic progression, academic advancement, or the application of academic regulations should consult the FASS Academic Appeals Procedures and the FASS Academic Appeals Procedures Flowchart in the FASS Rules and Procedures Handbook (Appendix II, Section IX.II).

Undergraduate advisors 2019-2020

Department

Title

Name

Phone & Email

Arabic Advisor Rodica Firanescu 902-494-3342
Rodica.Firanescu@dal.ca
Chinese Advisor Shao-Pin Luo 902-494-3197
sluo@dal.ca

Classics

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Leona MacLeod

902-494-2280
Leona.MacLeod@dal.ca

Canadian Studies

Undergraduate  Coordinator

Contact Department 902-494-2221
CANA@dal.ca

Contemporary Studies

Program Director

Dr. Daniel Brandes (Jul 1/19 - Dec 31/19)

902-422-1271, ext. 235
Daniel.Brandes@ukings.ca
    Dr. Dorota Glowacka (Jan 1/20 - Jun 30/20) 902-422-1271, ext. 206
dorota.glowacka@ukings.ca

Early Modern Studies

Program Director

Dr. Simon Kow

902-422-1271, ext. 156
simon.kow@ukings.ca

English

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Alice Brittan

902-494-6780
alice.brittan@dal.ca
European Studies Coordinator Dr. Gregory Hanlon 902-494-3642
gregory.hanlon@dal.ca

Film Studies/Cinema and Media Studies

Coordinator

Dr. Shannon Brownlee

902-494-1490
shannon.brownlee@dal.ca

French

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Vincent Simedoh

902-494-6805
vincent.simedoh@dal.ca
Gender & Women's Studies Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator Dr. Liesl Gambold 902-494-3689
liesl.gambold@dal.ca or GWST@dal.ca

German

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Cornelia Lorenz

902-494-1093
cornelia.lorenz@dal.ca

History

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Chris Bell

902-494-3586
bellcm@dal.ca

History of Science and Technology

Director

Dr. Gordon McOuat

902-422-1271, ext. 216
gmcouat@dal.ca
Indigenous Studies Coordinator Margaret Robinson 902-494-1360
margaret.robinson@dal.ca

International Development Studies

Undergraduate & Honours  Coordinator

Dr. Ajay Parasram 902-494-2167
parasram@dal.ca

Italian Studies

Undergraduate Coordinator

Paolo Matteucci

902-494-3354
paolo.matteucci@dal.ca

Journalism

Undergraduate Coordinator

Tim Currie

902-422-1271 ext. 187
tim.currie@ukings.ca
Law, Justice and Society
Undergraduate Coordinator Margaret Denike
902-494-6298
m.denike@dal.ca
ljso@dal.ca

Music

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinators

Dr. Steven Baur

902-494-6502
steven.baur@dal.ca

Philosophy

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Kirstin Borgerson

902-494-3338
kirstin.borgerson@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Chike Jeffers

902-494-3547 chike.jeffers@dal.ca

Political Science

Undergraduate Coordinator

Anders Hayden

902-494-6602
anders.hayden@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Robert Finbow 902-494-6606
robert.finbow@dal.ca 

Religious Studies

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Christopher Austin

902-494-6922
Christopher.Austin@dal.ca

Russian

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Yuri Leving

902-494-6923
yleving@dal.ca
Sociology and Social Anthropology Undergraduate Coordinator Dr. Jean-Sebastien Guy 902-494-6759
jsguy@dal.ca
  Undergraduate Advisors Laura Eramian 902-494-6754
LEramian@Dal.Ca
    Liz Fitting 902-494-6346
elizabeth.fitting@dal.ca
    Howard Ramos
902-494-3130
howard.ramos@dal.ca
 

Honours Advisor

Dr. Martha Radice

902-494-6747
martha.radice@dal.ca

Spanish

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Emilia Santos Montero

902-494-7118
spanish.advising@dal.ca
Sustainability Advisors Kaarin Tae 902-494-7860
essadvising@dal.ca

Theatre

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. David Nicol
902-494-1491
david.nicol@dal.ca


 

Graduate Advisors 2019-2020

Department
Graduate Advisor Phone & email
Classics

Dr. Eli Diamond

Dr. Emily Varto

902-494-2294
Eli.Diamond@dal.ca    
902-494-2277
e.varto@dal.ca
English

Dr. Kathy Cawsey

902-494-6903
kathy.cawsey@dal.ca

French Dr. Vincent.Masse
902-494-6808
Vincent.Masse@dal.ca
History Dr. Colin Mitchell

902-494-2788
c.mitchell@dal.ca

International Development Studies Dr. Matthew Schnurr

902-494-7562
matthew.schnurr@dal.ca

Journalism Tim Currie 902-422-1271 ext. 187
tim.currie@ukings.ca
Musicology Dr. Jennifer Bain 902-494-3867
jennifer.bain@dal.ca
Philosophy

Dr. Greg Scherkoske

902-494-3520
greg.scherkoske@dal.ca
Political Science Dr. Katherine Fierlbeck 902-494-6631
K.Fierlbeck@dal.ca
Sociology & Social Anthropology Dr. Fiona Martin

902-494-6750
f.martin@dal.ca