Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Academic Advising

 

Consult your department's academic advisor if you require specific advice about your major, honours options and program requirements.

If you need general advice about courses, bursaries or admissions, you should consult an advisor in the Registar's Office or make an appointment with an academic counsellor in Student Services.

For academic problems that require a specific waiver (determined at the Registrar's Office) or for those cases that have been specifically referred, students shall consult the Assistant Dean of Student Matters at asstdeanfass@dal.ca or 902-494-1440.

Undergraduate advisors 2016-2017

Department

Title

Name

Phone & Email

Arabic Advisor Rodica Firanescu 902-494-3342
Rodica.Firanescu@dal.ca
Chinese Advisor Shao-Pin Luo 902-494-3197
sluo@dal.ca

Classics

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Leona MacLeod

902-494-2280
leona.macleod@dal.ca

Canadian Studies

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Ruth Bleasdale

903-494-3355

ruth.bleasdale@dal.ca

Contemporary Studies

Program Director

Dr. Elizabeth Edwards

902-422-1271, ext. 205
elizabeth.edwards@ukings.ca

Early Modern Studies

Program Director

Dr. Kathryn Morris

902-422-1271, ext. 207
kathryn.morris@ukings.ca

English

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Trevor Ross

902-494-6278
trevor.ross@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Carrie Dawson

902-494-3488
carrie.dawson@dal.ca

European Studies Coordinator Dr. Jerry White 902-494-3628
jerry.white@dal.ca

Film Studies

Theatre Advisor

Dr. Roberta Barker

902-494-1495
roberta.barker@dal.ca

French

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Vittorio Frigerio

902-494-6805
vittorio.frigerio
@dal.ca
Gender & Women's Studies Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator Dr. Liesl Gambold 902-494-3689
liesl.gambold@dal.ca

German

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Brigid Garvey

902-494-1095
Brigid.Garvey@Dal.Ca

History

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Amal Ghazal

902-494-1508
amal.ghazal@dal.ca

History of Science and Technology

Director

Dr. Melanie Frappier

902-422-1271, ext. 181
melanie.frappier@ukings.ca

International Development Studies

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Matthew Schnurr
902-494-7711
matthew.schnurr@dal.ca

 

Italian Studies

Undergraduate Coordinator

Paolo Matteucci

902-494-6887
paolo.matteucci@dal.ca

Journalism

Graduate Coordinator

Stephen Kimber

902-422-1271 ext. 150
stephen.kimber@ukings.ca

 

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Susan Newhook

902-422-1271 ext. 149
susan.newhook@ukings.ca
  Minor Program Coordinator Dean Jobb 902-422-1271 ext. 143 djobb@dal.ca
   

Law and Society

Program-as-Minor Coordinator

David Matthias

902-494-6898
david.matthias@dal.ca

Music

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Chris Mitchell

902-494-6394
chris.mitchell@dal.ca

Philosophy

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Kirstin Borgerson

902-494-1926
kirstin.borgerson@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Greg Scherkoske

902-494-3520 greg.scherkoske@dal.ca
  Transfer Credits
Dr. Tyler Hildebrand 902-494-3403
hildebrand@dal.ca

Politcal Science

Undergraduate Coordinator

Anders Hayden

902-494-6602
anders.hayden@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Brian Bow 902-494-6629
brian.bow@dal.ca 

Religious Studies

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Alexander Treiger

902-494-3493
atreiger@dal.ca

Russian

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Yuri Leving

902-494-6923
yleving@dal.ca

Sociology and Social Anthropology

Undergraduate Coordinator

Advisors

Dr. Liesl Gambold

Dr. Martha Radice

Dr. Brian Noble

 

902-494-3689
liesl.gambold@dal.ca

902-494-6747
Martha.Radice@dal.ca

902-494-2819
Brian.Noble@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Emma Whelan

902-494-6752
emma.whelan@dal.ca
  Letter of Permission Dr. Howard Ramos 902-494-3130
howard.ramos@dal.ca

Spanish

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Liliana de Antueno

902-494-5810
spanish.advising@dal.ca
Sustainability Advisors Kaarin Tae
Sherry Elliott
902-494-4581
essadvising@dal.ca

Theatre

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Roberta Barker  902-494-1495
Roberta.Barker@dal.ca


 

Graduate Advisors 2016-2017

Department
Graduate Advisor Phone & email
Classics

Dr. Eli Diamond

902-494-2294
Eli.Diamond@dal.ca 
English

Dr. Alice Brittan

902-494-6780
Alice.Brittan@dal.ca

French Dr. Jasmina Milicevic
902-494-1720
Jasmina.Milicevic@dal.ca
German Dr. Hans-Gunther Schwarz

902-494-2161
H-G.Schwarz@dal.ca

History Dr. Justin Roberts

902-494-3633
Justin.Roberts@dal.ca

International Development Studies Dr. John Cameron

902-494-7011
John.Cameron@dal.ca

Musicology Dr. Estelle Joubert 902-494-1826
Estelle.Joubert@dal.ca
Philosophy

Dr. Michael Hymers


902-494-3548
michael.hymers@dal.ca
Political Science Dr. Katherine Fierlbeck 902-494-6631
K.Fierlbeck@dal.ca
Sociology & Social Anthropology

Dr. Fiona Martin

902-494-6750
fiona.martin@dal.ca