Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Academic Advising

 

Consult your department's academic advisor if you require specific advice about your major, honours options and program requirements.

If you need general advice about bursaries or admissions, please consult with an advisor in the Registrar's Office. If you need general advice about course selection and registration, please make an appointment with an academic advisor in Student Affairs.

For academic problems that require a specific waiver (determined at the Registrar's Office) or for those cases that have been specifically referred, students shall consult the Assistant Dean of Student Matters at asstdeanfass@dal.ca or 902-494-1440.

Undergraduate advisors 2017-2018

Department

Title

Name

Phone & Email

Arabic Advisor Rodica Firanescu 902-494-3342
Rodica.Firanescu@dal.ca
Chinese Advisor Shao-Pin Luo 902-494-3197
sluo@dal.ca

Classics

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Leona MacLeod

902-494-2280
leona.macleod@dal.ca

Canadian Studies

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Jerry Bannister 902-494-1541
jerry.bannister@dal.ca

Contemporary Studies

Program Director

Dr. Elizabeth Edwards

902-422-1271, ext. 205
elizabeth.edwards@ukings.ca

Early Modern Studies

Program Director

Dr. Simon Kow

902-422-1271, ext. 156
simon.kow@ukings.ca

English

Undergraduate and Honours Coordinator

Dr. Trevor Ross

902-494-6278
trevor.ross@dal.ca
European Studies Coordinator Dr. Jerry White 902-494-3628
jerry.white@dal.ca

Film Studies/Cinema and Media Studies

Theatre Advisor

(Fall Term) Dr. David Nicol

902-494-1491
david.nicol@dal.ca
    (Winter Term) Dr. Shannon Brownlee
902-494-1490
shannon.brownlee@dal.ca

French

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Vittorio Frigerio

902-494-6805
vittorio.frigerio
@dal.ca
Gender & Women's Studies Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator (Fall Term)
Dr. Margaret Denike
902-494-6298
m.denike@dal.ca or GWST@dal.ca
    (Winter Term)
Dr. Liesl Gambold
902-494-3689
liesl.gambold@dal.ca or GWST@dal.ca

German

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Brigid Garvey

902-494-1095
Brigid.Garvey@Dal.Ca

History

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. John Bingham

902-494-3641
john.bingham@dal.ca

History of Science and Technology

Director

Dr. Melanie Frappier

902-422-1271, ext. 181
melanie.frappier@ukings.ca

International Development Studies

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinators

Dr. Robert Huish 902-494-2979
huish@dal.ca
    Marian MacKinnon 902-494-3814 Marian.MacKinnon@Dal.Ca

Italian Studies

Undergraduate Coordinator

Paolo Matteucci

902-494-6887
paolo.matteucci@dal.ca

Journalism

Undergraduate Coordinator

Kelly Toughill

902-422-1271 ext. 185
kelly.toughill@ukings.ca
Law, Justice and Society
Undergraduate Coordinator Margaret Denike 902-494-6298
m.denike@dal.ca
ljso@dal.ca

Law and Society

Program-as-Minor Coordinator

Margaret Denike

902-494-6298
m.denike@dal.ca

Music

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinators

Chris Mitchell

902-494-6394
chris.mitchell@dal.ca

Philosophy

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Kirstin Borgerson

902-494-1926
kirstin.borgerson@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Chike Jeffers

902-494-3547 chike.jeffers@dal.ca
  Transfer Credits
Dr. Tyler Hildebrand 902-494-3403
hildebrand@dal.ca

Politcal Science

Undergraduate Coordinator

Anders Hayden

902-494-6602
anders.hayden@dal.ca

 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Brian Bow 902-494-6629
brian.bow@dal.ca 

Religious Studies

Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Christopher Austin

902-494-6922
christopher.austin@dal.ca

Russian

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. Yuri Leving

902-494-6923
yleving@dal.ca

Sociology and Social Anthropology

Undergraduate Advisors Dr. Jean-Sebastien Guy 902-494-6759
Jean-Sebastien.Guy@dal.ca
    Dr. Brian Noble 902-494-2819
Brian.Noble@dal.ca
    Dr. Liesl Gambold
(Starting Jan 2018)
902-494-3689
liesl.gambold@dal.ca
  Undergraduate Coordinator Dr. Yoko Yoshida 902-494-3534 yoko.yoshida@dal.ca
 

Honours Coordinator

Dr. Christopher Helland

902-494-6757
chelland@dal.ca
  Letter of Permission Dr. Robin Oakley 902-494-6807
robin.oakley@dal.ca

Spanish

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Liliana de Antueno

902-494-5810
spanish.advising@dal.ca
Sustainability Advisors Kaarin Tae 902-494-7860
essadvising@dal.ca

Theatre

Undergraduate & Honours Coordinator

Dr. David Nicol
902-494-1491
david.nicol@dal.ca


 

Graduate Advisors 2017-2018

Department
Graduate Advisor Phone & email
Classics

Dr. Eli Diamond

902-494-2294
Eli.Diamond@dal.ca 
English

Dr. Jason Haslam

902-494-3328
Jason.Haslam@dal.ca

French Dr. Vincent.Masse
902-494-6808
Vincent.Masse@dal.ca
History Dr. Justin Roberts

902-494-3633
Justin.Roberts@dal.ca

International Development Studies Dr. John Cameron

902-494-7011
John.Cameron@dal.ca

Journalism Dr. Tim Currie 902-422-1271 ext. 187
tim.currie@ukings.ca
Musicology Dr. Estelle Joubert 902-494-1826
Estelle.Joubert@dal.ca
Philosophy

Dr. Greg Scherkoske

902-494-3520
greg.scherkoske@dal.ca
Political Science Dr. Katherine Fierlbeck 902-494-6631
K.Fierlbeck@dal.ca
Sociology & Social Anthropology Dr. Fiona Martin (Fall)

902-494-6750
fiona.martin@dal.ca

  Dr. Liz Fitting (Winter) 902-494-6346 Elizabeth.Fitting@dal.ca