Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Our Faculty

A multidisciplinary perspective

Faculty members teaching in the Canadian Studies program come from a range of departments in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, as well as other departments and programs across Dalhousie.

Below is a list of the programs and departments represented by current Canadian Studies faculty. Open the lists to see faculty names, research areas and contact information.

College of Sustainability

Steven Mannell
Email: steven.mannell@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6122

Architecture, public works, lightweight building materials
 

English

Carrie Dawson
Email: carrie.dawson@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3488

Canadian literature, post-colonial literature, citizenship studies
Bart Vautour profile size

Bart Vautour
Email: bvautour@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6780

Canadian literature, Cultural studies, Modernist literature, Social justice and inequality

French

Betty Bednarski
Email: b.bednarski@dal.ca
 

Chris Elson
Email: celson@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6812

French literature, popular literature, literary theory and criticism

 
Vincent Masse
Email: vincent.masse@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6808


Topics: Medieval French literature, Early modern French literature, Contact literature, Apocalyptic literature, Ephemeral literature, Literary theory and criticism
 

Irene Oore
Email: irene.oore@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6813

Novels and literature from Quebec, French as a second language, literary analysis

 

History

Bannister

Jerry Bannister
Canadian Studies Coordinator
Email: jerry.bannister@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1541

Early modern Atlantic World history, Canadian history, Modern Atlantic Canada

Ruth Bleasdale
Email: ruth.bleasdale@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3355

Canadian history, working-class history, criminal law

Shirley Tillotson
Email: shirley.tillotson@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3364

Canadian history, taxation in Canada, French Canada, the history of gender and sexuality

Humanities (University of King's College)

Susan Dodd
Associate Professor of Humanities, King's College
Email: susan.dodd@ukings.ca
Phone: 902-422-1271, ext. 209

Politics of memory, 19th and 20th century thought

International Development Studies

JC 2014-2 John Cameron
Email: john.cameron@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-7011

Indigenous and peasant social movements, NGO aid agencies, Rural development policies

Journalism (University of King's College)

Kim Kierans
VP of King's College and Journalism professor
Email: kim.kierans@ukings.ns.ca
Phone: 902-422-1271, ext. 164

Community media, media ownership, reseach methods

Music

Jérôme Blais
Email: jerome.blais@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3037

Canadian composers, Canadian pianists, Canadian music

Political Science

David Black
Email: david.black@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6638

Canada's role in Sub-Saharan Africa, Canadian foreign policy, sport and world politics
Louise Carbert
Email: louise.carbert@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6628

Canadian politics, political parties, political behaviour, women and leadership
Kristin Good
Email: kristin.good@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1944

Canada's model of ethno-cultural and linguistic pluralism, city politics and governance, immigration policy

Sociology and Social Anthropology

Afua Up Close

Afua Cooper
Email: afua.cooper@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3012

Social justice and inequality, African diaspora, Body and embodiment, Critical race theory, Decolonizing studies and methodologies, Gender, Slavery, abolition and freedom, Africa, Black Canada

Karen Foster
Email: karen.foster@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6751

Economy, work and development, Knowledge, science and expertise, Political economy, Research methods, Rural studies, Social policy, Social statistics, Atlantic Canada

Diana Lewis
Email: diana.Lewis@dal.ca
Phone 902-494-6755

Community-based participatory research, environmental health, Indigenous methodology, social statistics, social justice and inequality, embodiment.

Noble_new

Brian Noble
Email: bnoble@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-2819

Social justice and inequality, Applied - action research, Decolonizing studies and methodologies, Indigenous peoples, Knowledge, science and expertise, Political anthropology, Property and law, Settler states

Martha Radice
Email: martha.radice@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6747

Urban studies, space and place, cosmopolitanism, inter-ethnic relations, immigration, Quebec, Canada
Howard Ramos
Email: howard.ramos@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3130 or 902-494-6595

Contentious politics, human rights, race and ethnicity, research methods, sociology of knowledge

Margaret Robinson
Email: mrobinson@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1360

Critical health studies, Social justice and inequality, Indigenous peoples, Gender, Sexuality, Drug use, Food & food movements, Research methods.

Theatre

Roberta Barker

Roberta Barker
Email: barkerr@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1495

Theatre History, Performance studies, Early Modern and Modern Drama, Opera in Performance, Canadian Theatre and Performance, Realism, Medical Humanities, Gender in Performance

 

Part-Time Academics

   

Claire Halstead
Email: Claire.Halstead@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-2430

Modern Canadian and British history, Digital History, and the history of childhood, immigration, war, and society.