» Go to news main

Director Announcement

Posted by Dean, Faculty of Health on October 9, 2023 in News
Dr Derek Rutherford Appointed School Director
Dr Derek Rutherford Appointed School Director

I am very pleased to announce that Dr. Derek Rutherford has been appointed as Director of the School of Physiotherapy for the period October 1, 2023 to June 30, 2028.
Faculty and staff in the School of Physiotherapy as well as the Search Committee noted Dr. Rutherford’s leadership in steering the School through challenging times during his two stints as Interim Director (eg. accreditation and the COVID-19 outbreak).
The Search Committee felt that Dr. Rutherford’s strong academic portfolio, innovative teaching, productive research program, administrative leadership experience and collaborative communication and decision-making approach were predictive of his future success in the role. Also, being a registered physiotherapist with experience in clinical practice supported his candidacy.
I agree wholeheartedly with the Committee’s assessment and recommendation and would like to thank the Search Committee, comprised of Director Susan Mansour, Dr. Mohammed Hajizadeh, Kate Grosweiner, Jessica Roy, and Dr. Shaun Boe for their excellent work.
Please join me in congratulating Dr. Rutherford as he leads the School of Physiotherapy into the future, as he has done so ably in the past.
Brenda Merritt, PhD (she/her)
Faculty of Health