» Go to news main

Environmental Health and Safety Committee Restructure

Posted by Stephanie Rogers on November 26, 2015 in News

Last Friday, November 20th, a safety committee restructure meeting was held for the current Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committees (JOHSC) at the Agricultural Campus. Below is a high level summary of the restructure which is not expected to come into effect until after the New Year. 

The current three JOHSC will remain and continue to be a supportive venue to discuss health and safety concerns within similar work groups.  These committees will be referred to as Local Safety Committees. 

There is now a new campus wide Agricultural Environmental Health and Safety (EHS) Committee.  The committee will be composed of 10 members in total, 5 members appointed by the University and 5 members selected by Employee groups as follows:  

Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE), 1 member Dalhousie Faculty Association (DFA), 1 member representing: Faculty and Instructors Nova Scotia Government and General Employees Union (NSGEU): Local 77, 1 member Local 99, 1 members representing (Custodial, Security and Trades Staff) Dalhousie Professional and Managerial Group (DPMG), 1 member 

The Campus Principal and EHS Office will participate as non-voting members on the Agricultural EHS Committee. The EHS Office will also provide support and liaise between the Local Safety Committees, Agricultural EHS Committee, Dalhousie EHS Committee and Senior Administration.  

With the cooperation of staff, faculty, students and the University administration, both the Local Safety Committees and the new Agricultural EHS Committee will assist the University in creating and maintaining a safe and healthy environment.

As discussed in the meeting, the names of the different committees have not been finalized.

Contact Sarah Langille, EHS Officer for more information, questions or comments.