Women's Leadership in Health

Leadership Award for Women's Health in Atlantic Canada

The Atlantic Centre of Excellence for Women's Health (ACEWH) recognized leadership in a number of ways. Between 2003 and 2009, this recognition included the Leadership Award for Women's Health in Atlantic Canada.

The purpose of the program was to recognize leadership on the part of individuals and organizations working in our communities, universities (students included), healthcare facilities, and a wide range of private and public sector services. Award recipients made significant contributions to the improvement of women's health throughout Atlantic Canada.

Each award recipient was presented with a bronze statuette appropriately entitled, Breakthrough. The statuettes were cast from an original piece designed by Dawn MacNutt, an internationally recognized Atlantic sculptor.

ACEWH gratefully acknowledges the generous contribution of Dawn MacNutt and photographer Peter Barss, for providing images of her work.

Dawn's work was chosen because it symbolizes for us the strength and the links between community, research and government organizations in the promotion of women's health, and the strong connection between research, policy, and action.

Award winners

Newfoundland and Labrador

  • Flora Boyd
  • Moyra Buchan
  • Cherie Lee Campbell Oram
  • Barbara Slattery
  • Alice Blundon, Creator of the Fun and Fitness Program
  • Beverley Brown, Antipoverty and Human Rights Activist
  • Sharon Buehler, Associate Professor, Faculty of Medicine,
    Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Jon Church, Associate Professor, Terry Fox Cancer Laboratories, Memorial University
  • Brenda Drover-Vardy, Lactation Consultant, Health and Community Services, Central Region
  • Lan Gien, President, National Organization of Immigrant and Visible Minority Women of Canada
  • Pearl Herbert, Midwife
  • Labrador West Status of Women
  • Kay Matthews, Faculty of Nursing, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Barbara Neis, Professor of Sociology, Memorial University of Newfoundland, and Co-director of SafetyNet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Sexual Assault Crisis and Prevention Centre
  • Planned Parenthood, Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Geraldine (Gerry) Rogers, Filmmaker
  • Joanne Rose, Cervical Screening Initiative, Health and Community Services Western Region
  • Shirley Solberg, Professor, School of Nursing, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Michelle Whittle, Registered Nurse Practitioner, St. John's Nursing Home Board
  • Women's Health Network, Newfoundland and Labrador

Nova Scotia

  • Addiction Services
  • Bonnie Anderson
  • Pamela Brown
  • Jan Catano
  • Josephine Etowa
  • Linda Ferguson
  • Donna Smith
  • Antigonish Women's Resource Centre
  • Patricia Beresford, Physician, Halifax
  • Cape Breton Wellness Centre
  • Judy Caines, Physician, Medical Director of the Nova Scotia Breast Screening Program
  • Fiona Chin-Yee, Population and Public Health Branch, Health Canada Atlantic
  • Kathy Coffin, Atlantic Regional Director of Population and
    Public Health Branch, Health Canada
  • Susan Edmonds
  • Health Association of African Canadians
  • Emmie Luther-Hiltz, Coordinator, Cancer Patient Family Network, Cancer Care Nova Scotia
  • Eva Marks MacIsaac, Executive Director, Debert Military Family Resource Centre
  • Patti Melanson, Health Service Coordinator, Phoenix Youth Programs
  • Nova Scotia Advisory Council on the Status of Women
  • Nova Scotia Cancer Centre: Halifax Clinic
  • Josie Richard, Nurse, Educator, Researcher and Volunteer
  • Joyce Ross, Community Activist, East Preston
  • Single Parent Centre, Spryfield
  • Society for Women Healing from Addictions and Abuse
  • Brenda Thompson, Author of Single Mothers' Survival Guide
  • Diane Tinkham, Manager, Health Services, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Women's Mental Health Program, Colchester Regional Hospital

Prince Edward Island

  • Sylvie Arsenault
  • Marlene Bryenton
  • Centre de Ressources Familiales Cap Enfants
  • Christine Hoffman
  • Angele Arsenault and Sylvie Toupin (joint award)
  • Centre de Santé Communautaire Evangéline
  • City of Charlottetown
  • Gerarda Corcoran, West Prince Caring Cupboard
  • Kirstin Lund, Mediator and Conflict Resolution Consultant
  • L'Association des Femmes Acadiennes et Francophones de l'Ile-du-Prince Edouard
  • La Voix Acadienne
  • Arlene Rose and the Eastern Kings Well Women's Committee
  • Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty

New Brunswick

  • Norma Dubé
  • Shirley Alcoe, Professor Emerita, Faculty of Nursing, University of New Brunswick
  • Marie Corinne Bourque, Go Ahead Seniors, Inc.
  • Christine Davies, Physician, Saint John
  • Georgette Ferlatte
  • Gaila Friars, Oromocto Public Hospital
  • Nancy Hartling, Support to Single Parents Inc.
  • Healthy Baby and Me Program of the VON—Outreach Workers
  • Marian Lucas-Jefferies
  • Marcelle Mersereau, MLA Bathurst
  • Patricia Roy, Sexual Health Centre, Public Health, Bathurst
  • Alice Starr Chipman Tilley (awarded posthumously)
  • Jacqueline Steward, past Director of Education, Region 3 Hospital Corporation
  • Gail Storr, Professor, Faculty of Nursing, University of New Brunswick
  • Nancy Votour, President, Lupus New Brunswick
  • Judith Wuest and Marilyn Merritt-Gray (joint award), Faculty of Nursing, University of New Brunswick