Funding, News and Announcements

» Go to news main

DFATD Short‑Term Exchange Program, 2019‑20

Posted by Jaq-Lin Larder on January 28, 2019 in Research Funding

The 2019-20 competitions for the Short-Term Exchange Program (SEP), funded by the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD), are now open. The SEP provides students and faculty from selected Latin American and Caribbean countries with research or study scholarships at Canadian universities. It is divided into four sub-programs:

The Emerging Leaders in the Americas (ELAP) Program,

The Canada-Chile Leadership Exchange Program,

The Canada-CARICOM Leadership Scholarships Program (for students),

The Canada-CARICOM Faculty Leadership Program,

Specific details for each sub-program, and links to further information, are provided above.

Awards are offered to both undergraduate and graduate students – and in the case of the Canada-CARICOM Faculty Leadership Program, to faculty and staff. However, please note that in order to bring an undergraduate to Dalhousie under the Program, there must be a formal exchange agreement already in place between Dalhousie and the student’s home institution. For graduate students and faculty members, it is desirable (but not mandatory) that such exchange agreements be in place. For a list of Dalhousie’s existing exchange agreements, please visit the International Centre’s website.

Please note that foreign students and faculty cannot apply directly for these awards. Any Dalhousie faculty member who is interested in applying to the SEP to bring a scholar to Dalhousie under his/her supervision must apply on behalf of that scholar.

As in previous years, Dalhousie applications to the SEP will be facilitated by International Research & Development (IR&D) in the Office of Research Services. Any faculty member interested in applying to any of the programs is asked to contact Amanda Leslie ( in IR&D, for more information and support in preparing an application.

Internal Deadline: March 14, 2019 at 4:30 PM
Agency Deadline: March 21, 2019 at 11:59 PM EST