About the Search

Dalhousie has completed the search for its 12th president and vice-chancellor, appointing Dr. Deep Saini effective January 1, 2020.

The search was governed by the university’s Senior Administrative Appointments Policy and Procedures. While the Board of Governors has sole power for appointment of the President, it establishes a search committee consisting of both Board-appointed members and non-Board-appointed members to recruit and recommend a candidate for appointment.

Search consultant firm Odgers Berndtson was engaged to assist with the search process.

General questions about the university's presidential search process should be directed to the University Secretary Susan Brousseau at (902) 494-1598 or susan.brousseau@dal.ca.