Media Releases

» Go to news main

Dalhousie professor recipient of prestigious McNeil Medal from Royal Society of Canada

Posted by Media Centre on September 29, 2016 in News

Dr. Françoise Baylis recognized for dedication to increasing public awareness of science

Thursday, September 29 (Halifax, NS) - Dalhousie University is pleased to congratulate Françoise Baylis on being awarded the Royal Society of Canada’s McNeil Medal. The prestigious medal recognizes individuals who have demonstrated an outstanding ability to promote and communicate science to students and the public within Canada.

Dr. Baylis, a Professor in the Faculty of Medicine and the Canada Research Chair in Bioethics and Philosophy, is the second Dalhousie faculty member to receive the McNeil Medal since its establishment in 1991. She has served as an expert voice in the public policy making process, and is an outspoken advocate for women’s health issues, particularly those pertaining to assisted human reproduction. Dr. Baylis uses film and other media in her work to simplify complex issues, such as stem cell research and new reproductive technologies, and make them more understandable and accessible to the public.

“It is truly an honour to be receiving this important national award,” says Dr.Baylis. “Making science inviting and engaging to all Canadians is critically important and something I am deeply committed to.”

In addition to the McNeil Medal, Dr. Baylis has been the recipient of several other major accolades this year, including the Order of Nova Scotia, the Order of Canada and the Distinguished Academic Award from the Canadian Association of University Teachers.

“We are extremely proud of Dr. Baylis,” says Dr. Martha Crago, Vice-President of Research at Dalhousie University. “This award recognizes her significant contribution as a champion of science in Canada, and we thank her for all of her work.”

The McNeil Medal is one of 15 medals bestowed by the Royal Society of Canada for making an outstanding contribution to a particular field of study. They are awarded annually, biennially or at irregular intervals, depending on the nature of the award. Previous winners have included David Suzuki, Jay Ingram, and Bob McDonald.

For more information about the Royal Society of Canada’s awards, visit the website.


Media Contact:

Michele Charlton
Communications Advisor
Dalhousie Research Services
Tel: (902) 494-4148


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus