Presidential search process continues

- December 5, 2018

Launched earlier this fall, the search for Dal’s 12th president and vice-chancellor is continuing as the university prepares to welcome its interim president.

In October, the university announced that Peter MacKinnon, the former president of the University of Saskatchewan, would serve as interim president of Dalhousie beginning mid-January. Dal’s current president, Richard Florizone, is set to finish his time in office at the end of December, when he will move to Waterloo to become director of the emerging Quantum Valley Ideas Lab.

Meanwhile, the search committee is taking into account input from the Dal community as it oversees the search for President Florizone's successor. This includes results from a university-wide survey that garnered several hundred responses, in addition to in-person consultations with groups such as Senate and Deans’ Council.

“It’s been great to see such interest in the role and the opportunity early in this process,” says Larry Stordy, chair of Dalhousie’s Board of Governors and chair of the 13-person search committee. “With the growing momentum and international profile we’ve seen at Dal in recent years, we expect to be reviewing applications from some truly world-class candidates.”

The search committee consists of six Board-appointed members and six non-Board-appointed members, in addition to the chair (who only votes in the case of a tie). The majority of non-Board-appointed members have been appointed by Senate. (The full search membership is below.)

The Board has engaged search consultant Jane Griffith with Odgers Berndston, one of the world’s leading executive search consulting firms, to assist with the search process. A position brief has been developed, as well as the presidential search website — both helping to inform potential candidates about the opportunity.

More info:

The committee expects to complete its search and recommend a candidate for appointment sometime in the first half of 2019.

Search committee membership:

  • Chair: Lawrence (Larry) Stordy
  • Board-appointed members: Cassandra Dorrington, Robert (Bob) Hanf, Anne McLellan, Sherry Porter, Robert Richardson, Candace Thomas.
  • Senate-appointed members: Roberta Barker (Arts & Social Sciences), Frank Harvey (Dean, Arts & Social Sciences), Kevin Hewitt (Chair of Senate; Science) and Louise Spiteri (Management).
  • DSU-appointed student member: Aaron Prosper (Dal Student Union President)
  • Staff member: Ian Nason (Vice-President Finance and Administration)


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus