Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Cross‑Appointed Faculty

The ESS curriculum is enriched by the College's interdisciplinary roster of cross-appointed tenure-track faculty drawn from virtually every faculty on campus. These three-to five-year term appointments ensure a continuous flow of new people and ideas into the College and provide a rich collegial setting for student learning.

Cross-appointed faculty contribute to the hands-on delivery of the core SUST classes, either as part of the team teaching the class, or as guest lecturers and panelists. Others collaborate with students in problem-based learning classes and community-based experiential learning opportunities.

Faculty members interested in pursuing a cross-appointment to the College may inquire at sustain@dal.ca

Michelle Adams
Director, Eco-Efficiency Centre
School for Resource and Environmental Studies
Faculty of Management

Tel: 902-494-4588
Email: michelle.adams@dal.ca
View Profile

Peter Allen
Faculty of Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Chair, R&D Technical Advisory Committee of Natural Resources Canada

Tel: 902-494-3299
Email: peter.allen@dal.ca 
View Profile

Karen Beazley
School for Resource and Environmental Studies
Faculty of Management

Tel: 902-494-1383
Email: karen.beazley@dal.ca 
View Profile

John Bingham
Department of History
Faculty of Arts and Social Science

Tel: 902-494-3641
Email: john.bingham@dal.ca
View Profile

David Black
Director, Centre for Foreign Policy Studies
Professor, Political Science

Tel: 902-494-6638
Email: david.black@dal.ca
View Profile

John Cameron
International Development Studies,
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Tel: 902-494-7011
Email: john.cameron@dal.ca
View Profile

Eli Diamond
Professor, Department of Classics, Ancient Philosophy
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Tel: 902-494-2294
Email: eli.diamond@dal.ca  
View Profile

Meinhard Doelle
Associate Director, Marine & Environmental Law Institute
Schulich School of Law

Tel: 902-494-1030
Email: mdoelle@dal.ca
View Profile

R.A. Dunlap
Director, Institute for Research in Materials
Dalhousie Research in Energy, Advanced Materials & Sustainability
Professor, Department of Physics & Atmospheric Science
Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-2394
Email: dunlap@fizz.phys.dal.ca 
View Profile

Elizabeth Fitting
Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Tel: 902-494-6346
Email: elizabeth.fitting@dal.ca 
View Profile

Graham Gagnon
Canada Research Chair in Water Quality & Treatment
NSERC/HRWC Industrial Research Chair
Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering

Tel: 902-494-3960
Email: graham.gagnon@dal.ca
View Profile

Martin Gibling
Department of Earth Sciences, Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-2355
Email: martin.gibling@dal.ca
View Profile

Patricia Glazebrook
Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (currently on leave)

Email: pglazebrook@dal.ca

Jill Grant
Professor, School of Planning
Faculty of Planning and Architecture

Tel: 902-494-6586
Email: jill.grant@dal.ca
View Profile

Judith Guernsey
Community Health & Epidemiology, Faculty of Medicine

Tel: 902-494-1767
Email: judy.guernsey@dal.ca
View Profile

Katherine Harman
School of Physiotherapy, Faculty of Health Professions

Tel: 902-494-8820
Email: k.harman@dal.ca
View Profile

Karen Harper
School for Resource and Environmental Studies,
Faculty of Management
Department of Biology, Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-6355
Email: karen.harper@dal.ca
View Profile

Anders Hayden
Department of Political Science
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Tel: 902-494-6602
Email: anders.hayden@dal.ca
View Profile

Nicholas Hill

Tel: 902-538-1654
Email: nc823753@dal.ca

Vivian Howard
Assistant Professor, School of Information Management
Academic Director, Bachelor of Management Program
Faculty of Mangement

Tel: 902-494-3031
Email: vivian.howard@dal.ca
View Profile

Larry Hughes
Computer Science Co-ordinator, Faculty of Engineering

Email: larry.hughes@dal.ca

Rob Jamieson
Environmental Engineering Program, Department of Process Engineering and Applied Science, Faculty of Engineering

Tel: 902-494-6791
Email: jamiesrc@dal.ca

Jeff Karabanow
School of Social Work
Faculty of Health Professions

Tel: 902-494-1193
Email: jeff.karabanow@dal.ca
View Profile

Raymond Klein
Professor, Department of Psychology, Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-6551
Email: ray.klein@dal.ca
View Profile

Steve Mannell
Director, College of Sustainability
Professor, School of Architecture and Planning

Tel: 902-494-6122
Email: steven.mannell@dal.ca
View Profile

Anna Metaxas
Department of Oceanography, Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-3021
Email: anna.metaxas@dal.ca
View Profile

Peter Mushkat
Professor, Environmental Science Program
Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-8056
Email: pwm@dal.ca
View Profile

Lawrence Plug
Department of Earth Sciences, Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-1200
Email: ljp@dal.ca
View Profile

Daniel Rainham
Elizabeth May Chair in Sustainability and Environmental Health
Environmental Science Program, Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-1286
Email: daniel.rainham@dal.ca
View Profile

Eric Rapaport
School of Architecture and Planning

Tel: 902-494-7801
Email: eric.rapaport@dal.ca

Tamara Romanuk
Department of Biology, Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-4515
Email: romanuk@dal.ca
View Profile

Tetjana Ross
Department of Oceanography, Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-1327
Email: tetjana@dal.ca
View Profile

     

Anne-Marie Ryan
Department of Earth Science, Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-3184
Email: amryan@dal.ca
View Profile

Julia Sagebien
School of Business Administration, Faculty of Management
Graduate School of Business (University of Puerto Rico)

Email: julia.sagebien@dal.ca

Matthew Schnurr
International Development Studies
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Tel: 902-494-7711
Email: matthew.schnurr@dal.ca
View Profile

Kate Sherren
School for Resource and Environmental Studies
Faculty of Management

Tel: 902-494-1359
Email: kate.sherren@dal.ca
View Profile

Susan Tirone
Associate Director, Undergraduate Programs
College of Sustainability
Associate Professor, School of Health and Human Performance

Tel: 902-494-2579
Email: susan.tirone@dal.ca
View Profile

Peter Tyedmers
Academic Program Coordinator
School for Resource and Environmental Studies
Faculty of Management

Tel: 902-494-6517
Email: peter.tyedmers@dal.ca
View Profile

Hal Whitehead
Department of Biology, Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-3723
Email: hal.whitehead@dal.ca
View Profile


Martin Willison
School for Resource and Environmental Studies
Faculty of Management
Department of Biology, Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-2966
Email: martin.willison@dal.ca

Dominika Wranik
School of Public Administration, Faculty of Management

Tel: 902-494-3764
Email: dwl@dal.ca
View Profile

Tarah Wright
Environmental Science Program, Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-3683
Email: tarah.wright@dal.ca
View Profile