Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.


Dalhousie Science News

» Go to news main

Faculty of Science: Awards, appointments and other honours

Posted by Faculty of Science on May 25, 2016 in Faculty and Staff
Acting Dean Ian Hill congratulates faculty
Acting Dean Ian Hill congratulates faculty

This week faculty and staff gathered to celebrate departmental achievements and milestones. An outstanding year, 2015/16 was filled with accomplishments. A well deserved congratulations to all. The full list of awards and promotions is available below. 

Governor General’s Innovation Award – Jeff Dahn, Physics & AS

Order of Canada – Mary Anne White, Chemistry

Discovery Award (Hall of Fame Inductee)Axel Becke (retired), Chemistry
Killam Prize (National) – Axel Becke (retired), Chemistry

Killam Awards
Paul Bentzen, Biology
Scott Chapman, Physics & AS
Christine Chambers, Psychology & Neuroscience
Simon Sherry, Psychology & Neuroscience

Killam Chair Jeff Hutchings, Biology  
Fellow, Royal Society of Canada (Academy of Science) - Jeff Hutchings, Biology

Promotion to Professor
Arunika Gunawardena, Biology
Heike Lotze, Biology
Sophia Stone, Biology
John Gosse, Earth Sciences
Hong Gu, Math & Stats
Dorette Pronk, Math & Stats
Laurent Kreplak, Physics & AS
Sean Barrett, Psychology & Neuroscience
Aaron Newman, Psychology & Neuroscience

Promotion to University Teaching Fellow
Nancy McAllister-Irwin, Biology
Mindy McCarville, Biology
Elizabeth Welsh, Biology
Anne-Marie Ryan, Earth Sciences
Simon Gadbois, Psychology & Neuroscience
Jennifer Stamp, Psychology & Neuroscience

Promotion to Senior Instructor - Susan Gass, Environmental Science

Magister Teaching award from Canadian  Botanical Association
Arunika Gunawardena, Biology

FoS Award of Excellence in Teaching-Jennifer Stamp, Psychology & Neuroscience

Dalhousie Alumni Association Award of Excellence for Teaching
Anne Marie Ryan, Earth Sciences

DSU Teaching Award - Kevin Duffy, Psychology & Neuroscience

Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award - Leanne Stevens, Psychology & Neuroscience

Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision
Christine Chambers, Psychology and Neuroscience
Member of College of New Fellows & Scholars, Royal Society of Canada
Christine Chambers, Psychology & Neuroscience
Jeffrey Lawson Award for Advocacy in Children’s Pain Relief
Christine Chambers, Psychology & Neuroscience

CIHR New Investigator AwardNatalie Rosen, Psychology & Neuroscience

Mandy McMath Conservation Award
Hal Whitehead, Biology

Faculty Research Fellow at the National Bureau of Economics Research

Casey Warman, Economics