Mathematics & Statistics

» Go to news main

Science Atlantic Winners

Posted by Queena Crooker-Smith on December 13, 2016 in News

Congratulations, Math, Stats and CS Winners!
Congratulations to the award winners from the 2016 Atlantic Universities Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science Conference, hosted at CBU Oct. 14-15.

Awards for best research presentations went to Martin Main, Acadia (CS) and Jordan Barrett, Dal (Math). Science Communication awards were presented to Josh Feldman, Dal (undergraduate) and Milton King, UNB (graduate). The UNB-F team of Vlad Marica, Lucas Pond, and Caleb Reath took first in the computer programming competition, and Leah Genge and Noah MacAulay (MUN) topped the math competition. See all winners here:

 Conference program with abstracts and conference photos are available online. 

Congratulations, AUGC Award Winners!
Congratulations are also extended to the 2016 Atlantic Universities Geoscience Conference award winners, hosted at Acadia Oct. 27-29, 2016:

  • Science Atlantic Best Paper Award: Sean Murphy (MUN)
  • Imperial Oil Poster Award: Christopher Williams (MUN)
  • Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists Award: Erin Anderson (Dal)
  • Frank Shea Award in Economic Geology: Taylor Chew (Acadia)
  • AGS Environmental Geoscience Award: Fiona Henderson (Dal)

See award descriptionsconference program with abstracts, and conference photos online. 

New Science Communicator Series
Science Borealis, in collaboration with Canadian Science Publishing, is hosting a New Science Communicator series featuring winners of the Science Atlantic Science Communication Awards! In the coming months, watch their blog for posts written by our student winners.

Hall of Fame 2016 Inductees
The Science Atlantic Hall of Fame honours faculty who have provided exemplary service to the organization, and alumni who can trace the start of their careers to an influential experience at a Science Atlantic/APICS event. 

This year, we'd like to welcome Robert Dawson, Milton Graves, and Rob Raeside to the Hall of Fame. Please read about their contributions and careers at the links above.

Call for Hall of Fame Nominations
Nominations for both alumni and faculty members are now open until Jan. 27, 2017. 

Service Pin Recipients

Service pins are awarded to members involved in Science Atlantic for five years or longer, or who have been involved for three years and organized a student conference. This fall, we recognized several members at the AUGC and MSCS conferences, and at the Science Atlantic Annual General Meeting

Upcoming Events

Feb. 3-5, 2017: AUPAC (UPEI)
Mar. 3-5: Environment Conference (UNB-F)
Mar. 10-12: Aquaculture & Fisheries and Biology (StFX)


Jan. 9, 2017: STEAM Horizon Award Applications
Jan. 16: Partners In Research Award Nominations
Feb. 1: Schulich Leader Scholarship Nominations