Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

More Support & Services

Support and services for faculty, staff and students are listed below.

Animal Care

The Studley Animal Care Facility is located in the Life Sciences Centre. There is a part-time surgery technician associated with this Animal Care Facility.
Animal Care Steve Price (902) 494-3433 Steve.Price@Dal.ca  
 
Surgery Veronica Baker (902) 494-6425 Veronica.Baker@Dal.Ca  

Basin and Reservoir Analysis Laboratory

 
  Grant Wach (902) 494-8019 Grant.Wach@Dal.Ca  

Biology Stores

 
  Rod Stewart (902) 494-3580 Rod.Stewart@Dal.Ca  

Chemistry Stores

 
Chemicals, glassware and miscellaneous lab supplies/consumables.  
  Cathy Ryan (902) 494-3319 Cathy.Ryan@Dal.Ca  
  Barry Moore (902) 494-3319 Barry.Moore@Dal.Ca  

Computing

 
Microcomputer and network support, software design and support
 for IBMs and Macs.  
IBM Computing Gino Ranieri (902) 494-2376
Gino.Ranieri@Dal.Ca  
  Thomas Duffett (902) 494-3777 Thomas.Duffett@Dal.Ca  
Mac Computing Kassiem Jacobs (902) 494-6501 Kassiem@MSCS.Dal.ca  

Core and Rock Repository and Teaching Facility

 
  Tom Duffett (902) 494-3777 Macduff@Dal.Ca  



Cosmogenic Nuclide Facility

 
  John Gosse
(902) 494-6632 John.Gosse@Dal.Ca  
  Guang Yang
(902) 494-1211 GYang@Dal.Ca  

Cryogenics/Liquid Nitrogen

 
Liquified helium, nitrogen and air and vacuum technology.  
  Kevin Borgel (902) 494-2317  Kevin.Borgel@Dal.Ca  
  Mike Boutilier
(902) 494-3336 Mike.Boutilier@Dal.Ca  

Crystal Isolation Lab

 
  Isabelle Coutand
(902) 494-7827 ICoutand@Dal.Ca  
  Tom Duffett (902) 494-3777 Macduff@Dal.Ca  

Electron Microprobe

 
Microprobe instruction and associated services.  
  Robert MacKay (902) 494-7087
Robert.Mackay@Dal.Ca  

Electron Microscopy

 
Electron Microscopy instruction and associated services.
 
  Ping Li (902) 494-3309 

Ping.Li@Dal.Ca  

Electronics

 
Design, construction, repair and maintenance of electronics.  
  Jim Chisholm (902) 494-3449 Jim.Chisholm@Dal.Ca  
  Chris Wright (902) 494-3351
Chris.Wright@Dal.Ca  
  Michael Gonzales
(902) 494-3709 Michael.Gonzales@Dal.Ca  

Experimental Petrology Laboratory

 
  Yana Fedortchouk
(902) 494-8432 Yana@Dal.Ca  

Facility for Stream Chemistry and Hydrology

 
  Shannon Sterling
(902) 494-7741 Shannon.Sterling@Dal.Ca  

Geophysical and GIS Support

 
Computer analysis of data.  
  Charles Walls (902) 494-3705
Charles.Walls@Dal.Ca  

Glass Blowing

 
Design, construction, modification and repair
 of glass.  
  Todd Carter
(902) 494-3826 Todd.Carter@Dal.Ca  

Greenhouse

 
A space for growing and maintaining plants.  
  Carman Mills (902) 494-6537 Carman.Mills@Dal.Ca  

High Pressure Seismic Velocity Laboratory

 
A high pressure research facility to study the seismic properties of rocks at pressures and temperatures equivalent to those in the Earth's crust and upper mantle. 
  
  Robert Luliucci (902) 494-3330

 Roberti@IS.Dal.Ca  

Low Temperature Thermochronology Laboratory

 
  Isabelle Coutand
(902) 494-7827 ICoutand@Dal.Ca  

Machining

 
Carpentry, machining, pipefitting, welding and more.  
  Cecil (Bud) Eisener (902) 494-3351
 Cecil.Eisener@Dal.Ca  
  Kevin Borgel (902) 494-2317 Kevin.Borgel@Dal.Ca  
  John Noddin (902) 494-2318 JNoddin@Dal.Ca  
  Mike Boutilier (902) 494-3336 Mike.Boutilier@Dal.Ca  

Micropaleontology Laboratory

 
  David Scott
(902) 494-3604 DBScott@Dal.Ca  

Marine Core Storage and Analysis Facility

 
  David Scott
(902) 494-3604 DBScott@Dal.Ca  

Mass Spectrometry

 
Mass spectrometry services are available
.  
  Xiao Feng (902) 494-1663
Xiao.Feng@Dal.Ca  
  Keith Taylor (902) 494-2360
Keith.F.Taylor@Dal.Ca  

Metals and Ceramics

 
Preparation of high purity metals, metal alloys and ceramics.  
  Andrew George (902) 494-3596
Andrew.George@Dal.Ca  

Microscopy

 
Instruction on use of light optical instruments
.  
  Carey Isenor
(902) 494-2553 Carey.Isenor@Dal.Ca  

Noble Gas Mass Spectrometry Laboratory

 
  Djordje Grujic (902) 494-2208 DGrujic@Dal.Ca  

Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) Services

 
  Mike Lumsden (902) 494-1635 Mike.Lumsden@Dal.Ca  

Patterns Numerical and Analogue Modelling Laboratory

 
  Lawrence Plug
(902) 494-1200 Lawrence.Plug@Dal.Ca  

Photography

 
Photographic, photomacrographic and photomicroscopic services
.  
  Carey Isenor
(902) 494-2553 Carey.Isenor@Dal.Ca  

Robert M. MacKay Electron Microprobe Laboratory

 
  Dan MacDonald (902) 494-7087 DN371300@Dal.Ca  

Scientific Diving and Boat Safety Officer

 
Training for scientific diving and the use of small boats to support SCUBA diving and the collection of scientific data and marine specimens.  
  John Lindley
(902) 494-2090 John.Lindley@Dal.Ca  

Seismic Analysis and Modelling Laboratory

 
  Mladen Nedimovic
(902) 494-4524 Mladen@Dal.Ca  

Seismic Analysis and Modelling Laboratory

 
  Mladen Nedimovic
(902) 494-4524 Mladen@Dal.Ca  

Statistical Consulting Service

 
  Lihui Liu (902) 494-8850
lihui.liu@dal.ca  
 
 

Tectonic Analogue Modelling Laboratory

 
  Djordje Grujic (902) 494-2208 DGrujic@Dal.Ca  

Thin Sections

 
Thin-section preparation.  
  Gordon Brown (902) 494-2561
   

Unix Administrator

 
UNIX Administrator Balagopal Pillai
 is available for support.  
  Balagopal Pillai (902) 494-3204


Pillai@MathStat.Dal.Ca  

X-ray Diffraction


 
  Andrew George (902) 494-3596
Andrew.George@Dal.Ca  
 

Stan Cameron

(single crystal & powder)

(902) 494-3759
Stanley.Cameron@Dal.Ca  
  Grant Wach (902) 494-8019 Grant.Wach@Dal.Ca