Awards & Prizes

The Earth Sciences department gives a number of annual awards and prizes to our faculty and students. Candidates are considered for these awards according to their eligibility according to the criteria below.

This MacEachern - Ponsford Memorial Award is to be made on the recommendation of the Chair of the Earth Sciences Department after consultation with the Dawson Geology Club and the staff of the department, to a student who has excelled in field school and has completed the second year of a program majoring in Geology, whose academic performance is of honours calibre, and who has been an active participant in student activities.

The Michael J. Keen Memorial Award provides stipend funding for a female undergraduate student summer research experience in the Department of Earth Sciences similar to an NSERC USRA. The successful student will work closely with a supervisor in the Department with the goal of exposing the student to scientific research work in general and to specific research in the field of Earth Sciences.

The tenure of the award runs from June 1 to August 31, 2019.

The G. V. Douglas Memorial Award commemorates Dr. George Vilbert Douglas, Head of the Department of Geology, Dalhousie University from 1932-1957. The award is given to a student entering second year Earth Sciences with an outstanding academic record in their first-year studies.

The David Barlow Memorial Award was established to provide an endowed award to be presented annually to a student in the second year of the Geology (Earth Sciences) Program.

The Best Thesis Award is given annually to the the best undergraduate thesis.

The Best Thesis Presentation Award is given to the undergraduate student with the best thesis presentation.

The James L. Hall Scholarship is a scholarship shared with the Faculty of engineering and is awarded every other year to an Earth Sciences undergraduate.

The Professor of the Year Award is given every year to the professor who, in the opinion of the students and colleagues, has done the most outstanding job in teaching, supervising, leading, or contributing in any way to the education of Earth Science students.