Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Academic Advising & Support

Dalhousie offers many academic support services available to all students (dal.ca/learnwell), including the First Year Advising team, who can help new students determine their academic goals and program selection. There are also support resources specific to the Faculty of Science.

Academic Advising

All Faculty of Science departments and programs have academic advisors who are available to meet with students individually.

A Dal Science academic advisor can:

  • Help students choose a major or honours program that suits their goals
  • Help students select the right courses
  • Provide advice if students encounter challenges in a course

Find a Dal Science advisor

Biology and Marine Biology

Undergraduate Advisors (Biology and Marine Biology)

*The Department of Biology maintains an advising schedule, which can be found here.

Jennifer Van Dommelen
Jvandomm@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-1584

Gillian Gass
Gillian.Gass@Dal.Ca
| (902) 494-8445

Todd Bishop
Todd.Bishop@Dal.Ca | (902) 494 1696

Lara Gibson
ldgibson@dal.ca | (902) 494-8817

Margi Cooper
Margaret.Cooper@Dal.Ca
| (902) 494-8436  

Debra Grantham
Grantham@Dal.Ca | (902) 494 2464

Honours (Biology)

Glenn Crossin
Glenn.Crossin@Dal.Ca
| (902) 494-4258

Jonathan Wright
J.M.Wright@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-6468

Tom MacRae (until end of 2016 only)
Tom.MacRae@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-6525

Co-op and Honours Co-op Coordinator (Biology)

Mindy McCarville
Mindy.McCarville@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-7072

Honours (Marine Biology)

Alan Pinder
Alan.Pinder@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-3822

Julie LaRoche
Julie.LaRoche@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-4249

Christophe Herbinger
Christophe.Herbinger@Dal.Ca
| (902) 494-1397

Co-op and Honours Co-op Coordinator (Marine Biology)

Nancy McAllister-Irwin
Nancy.McAllister-Irwin@Dal.Ca
| (902) 494-3818

Graduate Coordinator

Sophia Stone
S.Stone@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-4541

Earth Sciences

First Year Advisor

Anne-Marie Ryan
Anne.Marie.Ryan@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-3184

Undergraduate Advisor

Mike Young
Mike.Young@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-2364

Graduate Coordinator


John Gosse
John.Gosse@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-6632

Economics

Economics Undergraduate and Honours Advisor

Ruth Forsdyke
Ruth.Forsdyke@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-6990

Economics Graduate Coordinator

Peter Burton
Peter.Burton@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-6745

Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science

Mathematics Undergraduate Advisor

Roman Smirnov
smirnov@mathstat.dal.ca | (902) 494-3265

Mathematics Honours Advisor

Dorrette Pronk
Pronk@mathstat.dal.ca | 902-494-3732

Statistics Undergraduate Advisor

Bruce Smith
bsmith@mathstat.dal.ca | (902) 494-2257

Actuarial Science Undergraduate and Honours Advisor

Toby Kenney
tkenny@mathstat.dal.ca | (902) 494-3896

Graduate Coordinators

Joanna Mills-Flemming (Statistics)
statgc@mathstat.dal.ca | (902) 494-1268

David Iron (Mathematics)
mathgc@mathstat.dal.ca | (902) 494-2385

Physics and Atmospheric Science

Physics Undergraduate Advisor

Laurent Kreplak   
kreplak@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-8435

Physics Graduate Coordinator

Theodore Monchesky
Theodore.Monchesky@Dal.Ca
| (902) 494-3582

Ocean Sciences and Oceanography

Undergraduate

Anna Metaxas
anna.metaxas@dal.ca
| (902) 494-3021

First Year Advisor

Laura deGelleke
laura.degelleke@dal.ca | (902) 494- 3249
laura.degelleke@dal.ca

Graduate Coordinator (Oceanography)

Dan Kelley
dan.kelley@dal.ca | (902) 494-1694

Chemistry

Undergraduate Advisors

Robert White
Robert.White@Dal.Ca
| (902) 494-6403

Peter Wentzell
Peter.Wentzell@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-3708

Jennifer MacDonald
Jennifer.L.MacDonald@dal.ca
| 902 494-2440

Co-op Coordinator

Alan Doucette
Alan.Doucette@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-3714

Graduate Coordinator

Mark Stradiotto
mark.stradiotto@dal.ca
| (902) 494-7190

Psychology and Neuroscience

Undergraduate Advisors

Leanne Stevens
Leanne.Stevens@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-6809

Sean MacKinnon
mackinnon.sean@dal.ca | (902) 494-3385

Leslie Phillmore
Leslie.Phillmore@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-2794

John Christie
John.Christie@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-4573

Janusz Borycz
jborycz@Dal.Ca
| (902) 494-8826

Jennifer Stamp (Fall 2016 only)
Jennifer.Stamp@Dal.Ca
| (902) 494-3432

Hélène Deacon
Helene.Deacon@Dal.Ca
| (902) 494-2538

Simon Gadbois
Simon.Gadbois@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-8848

Aaron Newman
Aaron.Newman@Dal.Ca | 902 494 1911

Honours Advisor (Psychology)

Tarra Perrot
Tara.Perrot@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-1875

Honours Advisor (Neuroscience)

Vin LoLordo
Vincent.LoLordo@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-3441

Graduate Coordinator (Psychology and Neuroscience)

Simon Sherry
gradprog@dal.ca | (902) 494-8070

Environmental Science

Undergraduate and First Year Advisor

Susan Gass
esadvis@dal.ca | (902) 494-4530

Medical Sciences

Undergraduate and First Year Advisor

Julie Jordan
medsci@dal.ca | (902) 494-1623

Environment, Sustainability & Society (through College of Sustainability)

essadvising@Dal.Ca | (902) 494-7860

Microbiology and Immunology (Undergraduate)

Undergraduate Advisor

Chris Barnes
cabarnes@dal.ca | (902) 494-2123

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (Undergraduate)

Undergraduate Advising Team

Booked through:
advisor@webmail.biochem.dal.ca
| (902) 494-6436

Integrated Science (First Year Program)

First Year Advisor

Martha Mullullay
mrmullal@dal.ca | (902) 494-8496

Marine Management (Graduate Program)

Graduate Coordinator

Becky Field
Becky.Field@Dal.Ca  (902) 494-3555

 

Solving Academic Problems

If you have a problem with a course (e.g., a missed deadline or a poor mid-term grade)

  • Contact your teaching assistant (TA) or professor
  • Contact an academic advisor  

If you’re not sure your program is right for you, contact an academic advisor.

Become a more efficient and effective learner

Dal's Study Success team offers advice, workshops and tutoring for students who wish to improve their academics.

A few reasons to visit:

  • You're attending class regularly but you feel like you're missing important points
  • You feel like you don't have enough time to get everything done
  • You’d like to bring together key concepts in both lectures and textbooks
  • You want to be fully prepared to write an exam
  • You're doing well in your courses, but think you could do better
  • You’ve experienced some academic failure, whether one paper, one assignment, one midterm or final exam, one or more classes

Learn more on the Study Success website.
 

Student Accessibility and Accommodations

Dalhousie's Advising and Access Services Centre
is the university's centre of expertise for student accessibility and accommodation.

Academic Integrity

Dalhousie University expects all students to be responsible learners, which means that you will complete assignments yourself and acknowledge sources of information and ideas when they are not your own, among other things.  The University Secretariat outlines academic integrity, including definitnion for plagarism, cheating and consequences. Familiarize yourself on their website here.