Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.


Dalhousie chemists shine nationally and internationally

Chemistry faculty and students received awards from national and international societies:

  • Peng Zhang recently won the 2017 Distinguished Lectureship Award from Japan’s Society for Molecular Science.
  • Lin Ma (Dahn group) received the 2017 Graduate Student Research Award from the Battery Division of the Electrochemical Society. The award recognizes promising young engineers and scientists in the field of electrochemical power sources. Lin also received the 2017 Canada Section Student Award from the Electrochemical Society.  

Contributions from Dalhousie chemistry faculty and students were recognized at the 100th Canadian Chemistry Conference held in Toronto from 28 May – 1 June, 2017.

  • Josef Zwanziger was the recipient of this year’s John C. Polanyi Award. This award is presented to an outstanding researcher in the fields of physical, theoretical, or computational chemistry or chemical physics and is sponsored by the CIC Physical, Theoretical, and Computational Chemistry Division and the University of Toronto.

Josef Zwanziger with John Polanyi (left) and Jason Pearson (right) at the 100th Canadian Chemistry Conference Awards Banquet.

  • Chris Lavoie (Stradiotto group) was selected as this year’s “Thieme Lecturer” for the Transition Metal Catalysis for Organic Synthesis symposium. This award is sponsored by Thieme publishers and is awarded to one student and one early career investigator each year.
  • John Noël (Mary Anne White group) received the Materials Horizons graduate poster prize from the CIC Materials Chemistry Division.

John Noël presents his poster at the 100th Canadian Chemistry Conference Materials Poster Session