BSc or BA Double Major in Biology and another subject

The Double Major degree program allows students to combine a study of Marine Biology with another subject. The other subject may be any discipline from the Faculty of Science (other than Biology), the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, the Faculty of Computer Science or the College of Sustainability. Marine Biology may be the primary subject (defined as the subject with the larger number of credits), or the secondary subject. If the primary subject area is from the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, the degree granted will be a BA.

Regardless of whether Marine Biology is the primary or secondary subject, the Biology departmental requirements are the same (see below). Students must complete a minimum of 30 credit hours in Marine Biology courses above the 1000 level. It is recommended that students enrolled in a Double Major program consult with advisors in both subject areas.

A Science Co-op option is available for students enrolled in BSc Double Major with Marine Biology as the primary subject. SeeĀ Co-operative Education Program.

Detailed information

View detailed information in the Academic Calendar

Checklists

Checklist for BSc Double Major in Marine Biology and another subject

Checklist for BA Double Major in Marine Biology and another subject

Contact an Advisor

Biology and Marine Biology Majors and Minors Availability
Todd Bishop todd.bishop@dal.ca by appointment
Margi Cooper mhcooper@dal.ca by appointment
Gillian Gass gillian.gass@dal.ca by appointment

Lara Gibson

ldgibson@dal.ca Wed. 10:30-11:30
and by appointment

Debra Grantham

grantham@dal.ca

Thu. 10:30-11:30
and by appointment
Jennifer Van Dommelen by appointment by appointment
Elizabeth Welsh elwelsh@dal.ca Mon & Fri 1:00-2:30
(advance booking preferred)
and by appointment