In‑Course Scholarships

Acadian Lines Limited Scholarship

Acadian Lines Limited has established a fund to provide a scholarship to a student, beyond first year, who has demonstrated superior academic performance in the preceding year(s) of the Commerce program and who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the University's program of intercollegiate athletics. Awarded automatically in August by the undergraduate scholarship committee, in the amount of $750.

Wilfred Berman Scholarship

A scholarship is offered to the student in Commerce who, at the end of the second year, has attained the highest average mark in COMM 1101, 1102, 3111. The endowment for this scholarship was provided by friends and co-religionists of the late Professor Berman. It is awarded automatically by the undergraduate scholarship committee in May, in the amount of $500.

Commodore Bruce S. Oland Scholarship

An annual scholarship that alternates between the Department of English and the Faculty of Management. Awarded automatically by the Office of the Registrar. Application not required.

Eaton Foundation Scholarship in Business Studies

A scholarship is awarded annually to a student entering fourth year in the Commerce program who has the highest average mark in Introduction to Marketing, Consumer Behaviour, and Marketing Research, and who has demonstrated high academic standing throughout their previous years of study. It is awarded automatically in May by the undergraduate scholarship committee, in the amount of $2000.

Marjorie Manning Fountain Scholarships

At least two non-renewable entrance scholarships of $5,000 are awarded each year to students from Atlantic Canada enrolling in the Faculty of Management directly from high school who have demonstrated a high level of academic achievement and financial need. Submit the General Entrance Award Application by March 15. See for more information.

Stewart Lockie Gibson Scholarship in Commerce

Several scholarships of varying amounts will be awarded annually to third and fourth year students of scholarship standing and good character who are proceeding to a degree in Commerce. Application not required.

Samuel S. Jacobson Scholarship

Since 1975 the Samuel S. Jacobson Fund has provided one or more automatic scholarships or bursaries of approximately $1000, as determined by the selection committee in the Awards Office. Preference is given to Nova Scotian students who are proceeding towards the Bachelor of Commerce degree.

Douglas C. Mackay Awards in Money Management

These awards are given to students who combine outstanding performance in COMM 3206 (Portfolio and Money Management) with dedication to achieving excellence in the money management field. The amounts will be $1000 or more, depending on the number of recipients each year.

W. Andrew MacKay Alumni Scholarship

Several scholarships valued at approximately $2,000 each are awarded to a returning full-time undergraduate student. Candidates must hold a minimum GPA of 3.30 and will have demonstrated excellence in qualities of leadership, citizenship and/or sportsmanship. Nominations will be sought by the Registrar’s Office from each Faculty and Department in November.

Harry Margolian Scholarships in Commerce

A bequest of the late Harry Margolian of Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, enables one or two scholarships per year to be awarded automatically by the Awards Office, to students working towards degrees in Commerce. These will normally be awarded to students in their third or fourth years.

McCurdy Printing and Typesetting Limited Scholarship

The Halifax firm of McCurdy Printing and Typesetting Limited established an endowment in 1985 to provide annually for an automatic scholarship in the Rowe School of Business. The Scholarship is open to a student, beyond first year, who has distinguished themself scholastically during the preceding year(s) of study in the Bachelor of Commerce Co-op program.

Christopher McKee Award of Merit

This award was established in memory of Christopher McKee, a Commerce graduate of 1981, through the generosity of his family. The recipient will have at least a B average, and will have made significant contribution to the university as an organizer of or participant in university or community activities. Application to department is required.

Norman Newman Scholarship Fund

This scholarship is offered as a tribute to Mr. Newman's record of leadership in business and the community. For students beyond first year in the Commerce program, or in the MBA program, a competition involving a case study of a family business is the basis of awarding of the scholarship, with a first ($2500) and second ($1000) place winner. Application required.

Andrew Peacock Memorial Award

An annual award named in honour of Dr. Andrew Peacock, Professor in the School of Business Administration. Students with good standing who are enrolled in either the Bachelor of Commerce or Bachelor of Management program in the second or third year of study are eligible. Students must have demonstrated interest and understanding of the issues related to persons with disabilities, have demonstrated volunteerism and experience or interest in working in the not-for-profit sector. Application required in the fall term. Apply to department.

J. Hugh Potter Scholarship

An endowment has been established to provide one scholarship in the amount of $5,000 to an entering Commerce student who has demonstrated a high level of academic achievement. First preference will be given to residents of Digby County who qualify based on their academic record, in honour of native Joseph Hugh Potter, who showed himself to be an exceptional initiator and developer of financial and commercial activity throughout this province in the fields of insurance, securities, shipbuilding, transportation and manufacturing. Submit the General Entrance Award Application by March 15. See for more information.

Harold A. Renouf Scholarship

An endowment has been established to provide an annual scholarship for a student entering the Bachelor of Commerce Program. Submit the General Entrance Award Application by March 15. See for more information.

The Sagewood Group Award for Entrepreneurship

This is an annual award of $2000 designed to encourage entrepreneurship among Bachelor of Commerce students who have completed at least two full years. Its intent is to fund a business start-up, and selection will be based on assessed viability of the proposed business and demonstrated commitment and ability of the student. Application required by academic department.

Frank H. Sobey Fund for Excellence in Business Studies

This fund makes five awards of $7000 each to students in business studies at universities in the Atlantic Provinces, in October of each year. Applicants must be enrolled full-time in business studies at an Atlantic Province university for the current year, have completed at least one year of undergraduate or graduate business studies, and have a minimum overall GPA of 3.00. Career aspirations, entrepreneurial ambitions, extra-curricular and community activities are also considered.

Ross Towler Accounting Scholarship

An endowment has been established to provide a $5,000 scholarship to a Commerce student majoring in accounting with a high academic standing at the end of their third year. 

The scholarship is in recognition of Ross L. Towler, FCPA, FCA, who was prominent in the field of accounting in Atlantic Canada as the long-time head of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nova Scotia and the Atlantic Provinces Association of Chartered Accountants, and as a lecturer in accounting at Dalhousie University. Application required by academic department.