International Exchange Program

Spend a term studying abroad

Our JD program offers valuable opportunities to study in other countries and in other legal traditions. Students are eligible to do an exchange in their third year of the program; exchanges are normally completed over one term. While attending the exchange partner institution, tuition will be paid at Dalhousie.

Partner institutions participating in the International Exchange Program

With over 20 exchange partners, students can spend their exchanges at the following institutions:*

  • Arctic University of Norway (Tromso, Norway)
  • Burcerius Law School (Hamburg, Germany)
  • China University of Political Science and Law (Beijing, China)
  • Instituto Technologico de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, Escuela de Dercho (ITESM) (Monterrey, Mexico)
  • Laval University (Quebec, Canada)
  • Lund University (Lund, Sweden)
  • National Law School of India (Bangalore, India)
  • National University of Singapore (Singapore)
  • Queens University of Belfast (Northern Ireland)
  • Queensland University of Technology (Queensland, Australia)
  • Southwestern Law School (California, U.S.)
  • Suffolk University (Massachusetts, U.S.)
  • Tsinghua Law School (Beijing, China)
  • Universidad Panamericana (Mexico City, Mexico)
  • University of Arizona (Arizona, U.S.)
  • University of Barcelona (Barcelona, Spain)
  • University of Bergen (Bergen, Norway)
  • University of Genoa (Genoa, Italy)
  • University of Houston Law Centre (Texas, U.S.)
  • University of Southampton (Southampton, U.K.)
  • University of Witwatersrand (Johannesburg, South Africa)
  • Victoria University of Wellington (Wellington, New Zealand)
  • Vrije Universiteit (Amsterdam, Netherlands)

Apply for an International Exchange

Exchanges are available during third year of study only, and eligibility is based on having a minimum B- cumulative average.
An information session about available exchange opportunities is normally held at the law school each January. Selection is by lottery and based upon the student's selected preference. The deadline is in early February each year.
Credit for participation cannot be received for more than one exchange program.
Students wishing to study away on a letter of permission for a year or a term at another Canadian law school must speak to the Associate Dean, Academic for more details. Note: Students who spend a term at another Canadian law school are not permitted to participate in an exchange program during the same academic year.

Read more about available exchanges in the 2019-20 International Linkages Information Booklet [PDF - 9.4MB]