Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.


Class Notes

Summer 2013

Class of

1953 test test test




Past notes

Kudos! Doug Black ('75) appointed to the Canadian Senate

Kudos! Dalhousie Legal Aid Service's Heather McNeill ('94)
and alumni Charles Broderick ('78), Kenzie MacKinnon ('78), Raymond Wagner ('79), Christene Hirschfeld ('84), Maj-Gen. Blaise Cathcart ('88), Frank DeMont ('89), Noella Martin ('90), Colin Clarke ('91) and LeeAnne MacLeod-Archer (’92) appointed QC for Nova Scotia by Acting Minister of Justice Maurice Smith

Kudos! Five alumni named to Lexpert's Top 40 Under 40 2013: Gregory Connors ('99), Natasha MacParland ('97), Megan McPhee ('02), Christine Pound ('03), Nikki Latta ('06)

Kudos! Spencer Campbell, Brian McKenna ('83), and Valerie Moore ('83), appointed Queen's Counsel, Prince Edward Island.

Kudos! To the 2012 inductees into the Bertha Wilson Honour Society:

  • Anita Anand ('92), Ontario
  • William Crosbie ('82), Newfoundland
  • Daniel Lapres ('72), France
  • Harold MacKay, OC, QC ('63), Saskatchewan
  • Tracy McPhee ('96), Yukon
  • Theresa McDonald, QC ('80), Manitoba
  • Charles Meagher ('83), Alberta
  • Valerie Moore, QC ('83), Prince Edward Island
  • Dr Pamela Palmater (LLM '99, JSD '09), Southern Ontario
  • Professor John Yogis, QC ('64, LLM '67), Nova Scotia

In memoriam Deepest condolences to the family and friends of Bruce Davidson, QC ('67).

Kudos! To Professor Michelle Williams-Lorde, one of this year’s recipients of the Canadian Progress Club (Halifax Chapter) Women of Excellence Awards, which celebrates inspirational women making a difference in our community.

In memoriam Our deepest condolences to the family and friends of William ("Billy") Murphy ('04), who was tragically struck and killed by a car while at a crosswalk on 21 November.

Kudos! Sheila Cameron ('92) appointed QC by New Brunswick Lieutenant Governor Graydon Nicolas.

In memoriam Our sincere condolences to the family and friends of Robert (Bob) Grant ('50).

Kudos! A long-time colleague and friend of the school, Dr Michael DeGagne has been appointed President and Vice-Chancellor of Nipissing University, effective January 2013. Our very best wishes, Mike!

Kudos! The 2012 LEXPERT ZENITH AWARDS honour lawyers who have been change-agents and outstanding leaders. We are delighted to see alumni George Caines, QC ('61); Dr George Cooper,CM, CD, QC ('65); Dr Purdy Crawford, CC, QC ('56); The Hon Constance Glube, OC, ONS, QC ('55); George MacDonald, QC ('70); Thomas O’Reilly, QC ('67); and Dr James Palmer, CM, AOE, QC ('52) recognized with these awards.