» Go to news main

Robert Wood Johnson Award

Posted by School of Health Administration on June 30, 2017 in News

MHA Graduate Receives 2017 Robert Wood Johnson Award

Janet Simm - President and CEO, Northwood Group of Companies
On Sunday, June 11th Canada's top emerging healthcare professionals were presented with the Robert Wood Johnson Award at a special ceremony hosted by the Canadian College of Health Leaders (CCHL).   Established in 1956, the Robert Wood Johnson Awards are presented to one student from six Canadian universities offering a Master’s of Health Administration.  The Award recognizes individual achievements and promising contributions to health services management. Since its inception, the Award has been presented to more than 300 Canadian healthcare professionals.

This year’s recipients included:
Lina Li – University of Alberta
Mylène Côté –  Ottawa University
Janet Simm   – Dalhousie University
Craig Thompson – University of Toronto
Michell (Mike) Bevilacqua – University of British Columbia
Myriam LeBlanc – University of Montreal

Janet has an extensive background in long term care, acute care and community based services, and has played a significant role in influencing the direction of healthcare in Nova Scotia. She has held positions with the Multiple Sclerosis Society, VON, the Department, the Nova Scotia Association of Health Organizations, South Shore Health and in March 2014, she accepted the position of CEO at the Northwood Group of Companies

Janet has a Bachelor of Science in Nursing and a Masters of Health Administration, both from Dalhousie University.

Congratulations, Janet!