Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Contact Us

General Contact Information

Faculty of Graduate Studies, Dalhousie University
Room 314, Henry Hicks Academic Administration Building
6299 South Street
PO BOX 15000
Halifax, NS, Canada, B3H 4R2

Telephone: 902-494-2485
Fax: 902-494-8797
Email: graduate.studies@dal.ca

Office Hours

Monday-Friday: 9am - 4pm

Staff Contact Information

Marty Leonard
Dean

Email: grad.dean@dal.ca

 

Dieter Pelzer
Associate Dean

Telephone: 902-494-2047
Email:
 dieter.pelzer@dal.ca

  • Postdoctoral fellows and research associates
  • New programs
  • Program modification
  • Curriculum issues
  • Program reviews

Eileen Denovan-Wright
Associate Dean

Telephone: 902-494-1331
Email: eileen.denovan-wright@dal.ca

  • Appeals
  • Academic integrity
  • Postdoctoral fellows
 

Lynne Robinson
IDPhD Director

Telephone: 902-494-1157
Email:
 lynne.robinson@dal.ca

 

Sarah Berrigan
Admissions and Convocation Officer

Admission Inquiries:
(Architecture and Planning, Arts and Social Sciences, Dentistry, Engineering, Law, and Management)

Telephone: 902-494-7178
Email: Sarah.Berrigan@dal.ca

Convocation Inquiries:

Telephone: 902-494-7178
Email: fgs.convocation@dal.ca

  • Administers admission decisions
  • Compiles and verifies convocation lists

Hannah Beck
Grad Student Program Assistant

Telephone: 902-494-6542
Email: grad.program.assistant@dal.ca

  • Assists with student program support
  • Assists with student admission support

Jaye Cartney
Information Clerk

Telephone: 902-494-2485
Email:
 graduate.studies@dal.ca

  • Receptionist
  • Coordinates FGS graduate student bursary application process
  • Student travel and research grants

Karen Conrod
Student Records Clerk

Telephone: 902-494-4556
Email: 
karen.conrod@dal.ca

  • Assisting with graduate student admissions
  • Graduate program support

Lisa Drisdelle
Senior Graduate Funding Clerk

Telephone: 902-494-6725
Email:
 gradfunding@dal.ca

  • Coordinates FGS scholarship allocation process
  • Administers graduate student payments (FGS scholarships GSPIPs)
  • Provides information to departments and students concerning scholarship funding

Wendy Fletcher
Program and Student Services Officer

Telephone: 902-494-6724
Email:
program.officer@dal.ca

  • Administers graduate programs and graduate student progress
  • Advises students and faculty on academic regulations
  • Leads the FGS Recruitment and Student Services Team

Nicole Fraser
Communications Clerk

Telephone: 902-494-2120
Email:
fgs.communications@dal.ca

  • Updates FGS website information and forms
  • Assists in the preparation of graduate calendar
  • Electronic reference processing and support
  • Exit survey processing
  • Coordinates masters thesis submissions

Susan Hooper
Financial Clerk

Telephone: 902-494-2772
Email:
financial.coordinator@dal.ca
Membership Queries: fgs.memberships@dal.ca

  • Financial processing
  • FGS memberships

Alicia Kirk
Acting FGS Administrator

Telephone: 902-494-6722
Email: alicia.kirk@dal.ca

  • Human resources
  • Appeals
  • Professional Development for Graduate Students
  • Executive secretary for Faculty Council
  • Exit survey management
  • Coordinates the Governor General's Gold Medals, CAGS/UMI Doctoral Dissertation, Dalhousie Doctoral Thesis Awards, and the FGS Distinguished Service Awards competitions
  • Program reviews
 

Helena Martel
Acting Senior Thesis Clerk

Telephone: 902-494-6726
Email:
 thesis@dal.ca

  • Provides information on all matters relating to thesis preparation
  • Coordinates PhD thesis submissions
  • Arranges doctoral defences

Phuong Nguyen
Acting IDPhD Graduate Secretary

Telephone: 902-494-8078
Email:
 idphd@dal.ca

  • Interdisciplinary PhD Program

Danielle Pottie
Scholarships Liaison Officer

Telephone: 902-494-6246
Email:
 fgs.slo@dal.ca

  • Liaison Officer and scholarship administration for NSERC, SSHRC, and CIHR
  • Administers scholarship competitions
  • Killam Administrator
  • Administers Killam Postdoctoral Fellowship competition

Jasmine Smart
Recruitment, Retention and Admissions Officer

Admission Inquiries:
(Agriculture, Computer Science, Health Professions, Journalism, Medicine, and Science)

Telephone: 902-494-4341
Email: Jasmine.Smart@dal.ca

Recruitment Inquiries:

Telephone: 902-494-4341
Email: grad.recruitment@dal.ca

  • FGS Recruitment and Student Retention in collaboration with Program and Student Services officer
  • Administers admission decisions
  • Contact for Visiting Research Graduate Students

Paul Strople
IT Coordinator

Telephone: 902-494-6384
Email:
 grad.it@dal.ca

  • Development of the FGS website and information systems
  • Administration of FGS database systems and reports

Stephanie Theriault
Budget Officer and Assistant to the Deans

Telephone: 902-494-4317
Email: fgs.deans.assistant@dal.ca
Curriculum Queries: fgs.curriculum@dal.ca

  • Finance
  • Administrative support for the Dean and Associate Deans
  • Annual Killam Event organiser
  • Administrative support for the Academic Programs and Curriculum Committee
  • Coordinate curriculum submission records
 

Vacant
Scholarship and Postdoctoral Fellows Clerk

  • Postdoctoral fellowship processing
  • Assists with student scholarship processing