Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Chemical Waste Collection


Please refer to the Chemical Waste Disposal Manual [PDF - 498 KB] in preparing your chemical waste for collection. If you have questions regarding these procedures, please contact the Hazardous Waste Technician, Katie Reid.

For hazardous waste chemicals, a Chemical Waste Disposal Form [XLS - 25 KB] must be completed and submitted via e-mail at least 2 days in advance of the collection date. The EHS Office will inform you if your submission cannot be included in the university's hazardous waste disposal program. In general, the following items will be accepted:

  • Waste aqueous solutions (e.g. corrosive, oxidizing, and toxic liquids)
  • Waste solvents, oils, and scintillation fluids
  • Contaminated labware and absorbants

Large quantities of expired and/or unwanted materials are not acceptable and recovery fees may be applied. Limited quantities of these materials will be accepted at the direction of EHS staff. In most cases, EHS staff will be able to dramatically reduce costs by coordinating multiple requests. We trust you appreciate the complexity (and associated risks) of the hazardous waste disposal program and will work with us to make it successful.

Please post or circulate this notice to those persons responsible for preparing wastes for collection - noting:

  • Trucking arrives as close as possible to the times indicated.
  • Occasionally there are delays from pick-up destinations prior to your stop, please be patient.
  • Do not leave your waste unattended.

Halifax Campuses Chemical Waste Collection

Pick-up Times

Please have your wastes ready for collection at the locations below for the following scheduled times:

Dentistry/Burbidge Building Loading Dock 9:30 a.m.
Tupper Building Loading Dock 9:45 a.m.
Sexton Campus 10:20 a.m.
* Biology Loading Dock
 - includes Earth Sciences, Oceanography, Psychology
10:40 a.m.
* Dunn Building 11:00 a.m.

If your building is not on the list above, you must call the EHS Office at (902) 494-2495 to arrange for pick-up of hazardous chemical waste.

* Indicates a recent change.

Schedule for 2018

Please mark your calendars accordingly and notify individuals in your area of the following dates. Contact Katie Reid (494-2906) or the EHS Office (494-2495) with any questions.

Please note that there will not be a collection in January.

Thursday, February 8
Thursday, March 8
Thursday, April 12
Thursday, May 10
Thursday, June 14
Thursday, July 12
Thursday, August 9
Thursday, September 13
Thursday, October 11
Thursday, November 8
Thursday, December 13

Agricultural Campus Chemical Waste Collection

Pick up Times

Please have your waste ready for collection at the locations below for the following scheduled times:

Haley Institute 9:30 a.m.
Cox Institute 10:00 a.m.
Banting Building 10:30 a.m.

If your building is not on the list above, you must call the EHS Office at (902) 893-6602 to arrange for pick-up of chemical waste materials.

Schedule for 2018

Please mark you calendars accordingly and notify individuals in your area of the following dates. Contact Elaine Osmond (893-6602) or the EHS Office (494-2495) with any questions.

Tuesday, February 6
Tuesday, March 6
Tuesday, April 10
Tuesday, May 8
Tuesday, June 12
Tuesday, July 10
Tuesday, August 7
Tuesday, September 11
Tuesday, October 9
Tuesday, November 6
Tuesday, December 11