COVID‑19 Science Advisory Council

Expert advice to guide university policy and practice

Established by the President, the COVID-19 Scientific Advisory Council brings together some of the region's leading infectious disease researchers from the Dalhousie Faculty of Medicine, helping ensure Dal's COVID-related decisions are informed by the latest scientific evidence and understanding of current variants including Omicron.

Its membership includes:

Jerry Aguinaga (co-chair), Executive Director, Environmental Health and Safety, Dalhousie University

Lynn Johnston (co-chair), Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases

Lisa Barrett, Assistant Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases

Gaynor Watson-Creed, Assistant Dean of Serving and Engaging Society

Scott Halperin, Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Pediatrics, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Todd Hatchette, Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Chief, Division of Microbiology and Immunology, Division of Infectious Diseases

Joanne Langley, Division Head, Infectious Disease, Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Department of Community Health and Epidemiology

Christy Simpson, Head and Associate Professor, Department of Bioethics