Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

STI screening clinics

Taking care of your sexual health


Dalhousie Student Health & Wellness provides free, confidential, and non-invasive STI screenings right on-campus to Dalhousie and King's students. Students can get tested at the Student Health & Wellness Centre or at mobile clinics around campus (listed below). 

Mobile Clinics

Wednesday, October 4 10am-2pm Life Science Centre (LSC) by Tim's
Wednesday, October 11 10am-2pm King's Campus
Wednesday, October 18 10am-2pm Sexton Campus Alumni Lounge
Wednesday, October 25 10am-2pm Howe Hall, C221
Wednesday, November 1 10am-2pm Sherriff Hall
Wednesday, November 8 10am-2pm Risley Hall
Wednesday, November 15 10am-2pm Sexton Campus Alumni Lounge
Wednesday, November 22 10am-2pm The Tupper
Wednesday, November 29 10am-2pm Dalplex Lobby
Wednesday, December 6 10am-2pm Student Union Building Lobby
Wednesday, December 13 10am-2pm Killam Atrium


 

Why should I get tested?

The majority of STIs are asymptomatic, which means that there are no signs, but there are possible consequences, including:

  • Scarring
  • Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
  • Pelvic Inflammatory Disease
  • Infertility
  • Blood vessel, heart, eye or brain damage
  • Increased risk of acquiring HPV
  • Increased risk of cancer

What to expect 

  • You will check-in at the registration desk and be given a confidential form to fill out (don't forget to bring your health card!)
  • A nurse will go over your form with you and give you your sample collectors
  • You will go to the washroom where there is an instructional poster on how to collect the sample (you do it yourself!) 
  • You give your sample to the nurse 

The whole process only takes about 15 minutes. 

If your result is positive, you will receive a call from the Student Health & Wellness Centre within 3-5 days and be invited back for a confidential appointment to get treatment. 

Be proactive! 

  • Use condoms, every time (this includes for oral sex, too)
  • Get the HPV vaccine
  • Get tested regularly