Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.


Scholarships and Bursaries

Johnson Foundation Bursary

Established by the Johnson Scholarship Foundation, this endowment provides up to four students per year with a $2,500 renewable bursary for up to four years. To be eligible, students must be entering Dalhousie directly from high school with permanent disabilities and demonstrated financial need. To be considered, students must submit medical documentation regarding the nature of their disability by the deadline identified.

Visit the Money Matters site for more information.

Dalhousie Student Union Student Accessibility Fund Award

The Dalhousie Student Union established this fund to support students with a disability at Dalhousie University. Students must be in good academic standing and registered with the Advising and Access Services Centre, or, with their provincial government as having a disability. Students cannot also be in receipt of a Johnson Foundation Scholarship.   

For application and deadline information, please visit the DSU website.

Partnership for Access Awareness Nova Scotia (PAANS) Scholarships for Students with Disabilities

PAANS, a Committee of the Nova Scotia League for Equal Opportunities, offers scholarships to permanent residents of Nova Scotia with a permanent disability who are entering or continuing studies at a Canadian post-secondary at the undergraduate level.

Visit the PAANS website to learn more.

National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)

A consumer organization, NEADS' mandate is to encourage the self-empowerment of post-secondary students with disabilities. NEADS advocates for increased accessibility at all levels so that disabled students may gain equal access to college or university education, which is their right.

Read more about NEADS.

More information

This list is not inclusive; please visit our updates page or the Money Matters website for more information.

Please note: application deadlines may have passed, but make note of annually distributed awards for the coming year!