2016 Honorary Degree Recipients

Fall 2016

Glenn Marcus Murcutt

Australian architect and teacher Glenn Murcutt's ...


Linda Lee O'Brien Pallas

Dr. Linda O'Brien Pallas' trailblazing research has led to changes in Canada's health-care system ...

Zdenka Saba Willis

A healthy ocean means healthy ecosystems - and healthy people.  That's why Zdenka Willis, director of the United States Integrated Ocean Observing System Program ...

Spring 2016


Sallie W. Chisholm

Unfortunately, due to unexpected circumstances, Dr. Chisholm is unable to attend Spring Convocation to receive her honorary degree. Her degree presentation will be rescheduled for a future Convocation ceremony.

The Honourable Mayann Francis, ONS

community leader and the province's first African Nova Scotian Lieutenant Governor

Jan Gehl

world-renowned architect and urban design expert


Professor Emeritus John H.V. Gilbert

groundbreaking researcher and advocate in speech language pathology and audiology

Marjorie A. Lindsay

philanthropist, volunteer and tireless advocate for engineering education


Mathai Mammen, M.D., Ph.D.

gifted chemist, medical doctor and pharmaceutical industry leader

Alanis Obomsawin, O.C.

celebrated filmmaker, artist and social justice advocate

David F. Sobey

business leader, philanthropist and supporter of community projects

David Rhys Williams

revered physician, astronaut and outstanding contributor to the practice of emergency medicine