Faculty & Staff

Find a faculty member

>   Full-time faculty

>   Part-time, adjunct & visiting faculty

Our faculty are internationally respected academics, lawyers and policy-makers known for teaching excellence, subject-matter expertise and innovative research. Our professors carry their passion for discovery and knowledge directly into the classroom. 

With more than 100 full-time and part-time faculty members for a student body of 450, the Schulich School of Law at Dalhousie University boasts an impressive faculty-student ratio.

Find a staff member

>   Staff directory

>   Key contacts

Our staff are experts in their area and are happy to provide support regarding admissions questions, library research, career development, media inquiries and more.

Key contacts:

Academic Deans

  Michael Deturbide
Associate Dean, Academic
michael.deturbide@dal.ca
902-494-1041
Room 224
 
  Tatiana Neklioudova
Administrative Assistant, Academic
tnekliou@dal.ca
902-494-7656
Room 222
 
  Elizabeth Hughes
Assistant Dean, Academic
elizabeth.hughes@dal.ca
902-494-1043
Room 216
 
  Judy Kavanagh
Administrative Assistant, Academic
judy.kavanagh@dal.ca
902-494-1042
Room 221
 

Admissions

   

Admissions Inquiries

    t:   902-494-2068
e:  law.admissions@dal.ca
Rose Godfrey
Director
rose.godfrey@dal.ca
902-494-1018
Room 211
Rose oversees the admissions process and works closely with Assistant Dean, Student Services Sarah Kirby to assist students in their career planning and development. If you have questions about your legal career, Rose is a great resource – please drop by to see her.
  Megan Dixon
Administrative Assistant
megan.dixon@dal.ca
902-494-2068
Room 206
Megan is our Administrative Assistant in the Admissions & Career Development Office. Talk to her if you have any questions about admissions into the Bachelor of Law program. Megan can also help you in the process of applying for summer or articling positions.
    >> Find out about Admissions

Alumni Relations

   

Alumni Updates: Keep in Touch

  Want to update your contact details? Send in a story idea for Hearsay? Offer alumni news or class notes?

Alumni Relations
Schulich School of Law
Dalhousie University
6061 University Avenue
PO Box 15000
Halifax, Nova Scotia  B3H 4R2

t:  902-494-5100
f:  902-494-4222
e:  lawalum@dal.ca    

Karen Kavanaugh
Director, Alumni Relations 
karen.kavanaugh@dal.ca
902-494-3744
Room 115
 
Tammi Hayne
Assistant to the Director
tammi.hayne@dal.ca
902-494-5100
Room 116
 
    >> Alumni news & events

Career Development & Student Services

   

Career Development and Student Services Inquiries

 
    t:  902-494-2068
e: career.development@dal.ca
 
Sarah Kirby
Assistant Dean, Student Services
skirby@dal.ca
902-494-7115
Room 212
Sarah Kirby is our Assistant Dean, Student Services. She provides tailored career development services, promotes our students to employers nation-wide, oversees the public law placement course, international exchange opportunities, and scholarships and bursaries. Talk to her if you are looking to hire a student, or if you are a student who'd like to discuss future career options in law or would like help in navigating the job search process.  
Rose Godfrey
Director
rose.godfrey@dal.ca
902-494-1018
Room 211
Rose Godfrey is our Director of Admissions and Career Development.  She oversees the admissions process while working closely with Sarah Kirby, providing the skills to assist students with the job market.  If you have any questions regarding your legal career, please drop by to see her.  
  Megan Dixon
Administrative Assistant
megan.dixon@dal.ca
902-494-2068
Room 206
Megan is our Administrative Assistant in the Admissions & Career Development Office. Talk to her if you have any questions about admissions into the Bachelor of Law program. Megan can also help you in the process of applying for summer or articling positions.  
    >> See the Career Services we offer
 

Classroom Technology & Information Media Support

  Geordie Lounsbury
Information Media Centre Supervisor
geordie.lounsbury@dal.ca
902-494-3516
Room 121
 

Dalhousie Law Journal

   

Journal Inquiries

    t:   494-1469
e:  editor.dlj@dal.ca
     Room 427
Vaughan Black
Editor

vaughan.black@dal.ca
902-494-1011
Room 419
 
  Lynda Corkum
Administrative Assistant
lynda.corkum@dal.ca
902-494-1469
Room 418
 
    >> Dalhousie Law Journal website

Dalhousie Legal Aid Service

   

Legal Aid Inquiries

    Dalhousie Legal Aid Service
2209 Gottingen Street
Halifax, NS   B3K 3B5

t:   902-423-8105
f:   902-422-8067
e:   legalaid@dal.ca

* Please note that we do not provide legal advice by email
Donna Franey
Director
donna.franey@dal.ca
902-494-8105
 
  Reena Davis
Office Manager
reena.davis@dal.ca
902-494-8105
 
    >> Dalhousie Legal Aid Service website

Dean's Office

Kimberley Brooks
Dean & Weldon Professor of Law
lawdean@dal.ca
902-494-2114
Room 440
 
Elizabeth Sanford
Assistant to the Dean
elizabeth.sanford@dal.ca
902-494-2114
Room 441
 
Donna Beaver
Director of Finance & Administration
donna.beaver@dal.ca
902-494-2115
Room 442
 
  Tiffany Coolen-Jewers
Financial & Administrative Assistant
tcoolen@dal.ca
902-494-3333
Room 443
 
Tammi Hayne
Assistant to the Director, Alumni Relations
tammi.hayne@dal.ca
902-494-5100
Room 116
 
Karen Kavanaugh
Director, Alumni Relations 
karen.kavanaugh@dal.ca
902-494-3744
Room 115
 
Lindsey Hunnewell
Communications Officer
lhunnewe@dal.ca
902-494-2618
Room 215
 

Lindsay Loomer
(on parental leave)
Communications Officer
lindsay.loomer@dal.ca
902-717-5635
Room 215

 

Finance & Administration

Donna Beaver
Director of Finance & Administration
donna.beaver@dal.ca
902-494-2115
Room 442
 
  Tiffany Coolen-Jewers
Financial & Administrative Assistant
tcoolen@dal.ca
902-494-3333
Room 443
 

Giving & Development

  Diane Chisholm
Sr Development Officer
Office of the Vice President and Schulich School of Law
diane.chisholm@dal.ca
902-494-5112
 

Graduate Studies

   

Graduate Studies Inquiries

    Graduate Studies
Schulich School of Law
Dalhousie University
6061 University Avenue
PO Box 15000
Halifax, Nova Scotia  B3H 4R2

t:   902-494-1036
f:   902-494-6535
e:  law.graduate.studies@dal.ca

Jocelyn Downie
Associate Dean,
Graduate Studies
jocelyn.downie@dal.ca
902-494-6883
Room 411
 
  Michelle Kirkwood
Administrative Assistant,
Graduate Studies
michelle.kirkwood@dal.ca
902-494-1036
Room 410
 
    >> Find out about Graduate Studies

Health Law Institute

   

Health Law Institute
Inquiries

   

Health Law Institute
Schulich School of Law
Dalhousie University
6061 University Avenue
Weldon Law Building, Rm 330
PO Box 15000
Halifax, Nova Scotia
B3H 4R2  Canada

t:   902-494-6881
f:   902-494-6879
e:   hli@dal.ca

Constance MacIntosh
Director
constance.macintosh@dal.ca
902-494-3554
Room 329
 
Sheila Wildeman
Associate Director
sheila.wildeman@dal.ca
902-494-1022
Room 328
 
  Barbara Carter
Administrative Secretary
barbara.carter@dal.ca
902-494-6881
Room 330
 
    >> Health Law Institute website

Indigenous Blacks & Mi'kmaq Initiative

   

IB&M Initiative Inquiries

    Indigenous Blacks & Mi'kmaq Initiative
Schulich School of Law
Dalhousie University
6061 University Avenue
Weldon Law Building, Rm 325
PO Box 15000
Halifax, Nova Scotia
B3H 4R2  Canada

t:   902-494-1639
e:   ibandm@dal.ca
Michelle Williams
Director
michelle.williams@dal.ca
902-494-1542
Room 324
 
  Valerie Armstrong
Administrative Secretary
v.armstrong@dal.ca
902-494-1469
Room 325
 

 

 >> IB&M Initiative website

Law & Technology Institute

   

Law & Technology
Institute Inquiries

    Law & Technology Institute
Schulich School of Law
Dalhousie University
6061 University Avenue
Weldon Law Building, Rm 416
PO Box 15000
Halifax, Nova Scotia
B3H 4R2  Canada

t:   902-494-1469
f:   902-494-1316
e:   lynda.corkum@dal.ca
Robert Currie
Director
robert.currie@dal.ca
902-494-1012
Room 424
 
Steve Coughlan
Associate Director
stephen.coughlan@dal.ca
902-494-1035
Room 317
 
  Lynda Corkum
Administrative Secretary
lynda.corkum@dal.ca
902-494-1469
Room 418
 

 

>> Law & Technology Institute website

Marine & Environmental Law Institute

   

Marine & Environmental Law
Institute Inquiries

    Marine & Environmental Law Institute
Schulich School of Law
Dalhousie University
6061 University Avenue
Weldon Law Building, Rm 444
PO Box 15000
Halifax, Nova Scotia
B3H 4R2  Canada

t:   1-902-494-1988
f:   1-902-494-4227
e:   melaw@dal.ca
Meinhard Doelle
Director
mdoelle@dal.ca
902-494-1030
Room 408
 
Moira McConnell
Associate Director
moira.mcconnell@dal.ca
902-494-2776
Room 409
 
Lauri MacDougall
Administrative Secretary
lauri.macdougall@dal.ca
902-494-1988
Room 444
 
    >> Marine & Environmental Law Institute website

Media Relations & Communications

  Lindsey Hunnewell
Communications Officer
lhunnewe@dal.ca@dal.ca
902-494-2618
Room 215
 
Lindsay Loomer
(on parental leave)
Communications Officer
lindsay.loomer@dal.ca
902-717-5635
Room 215

Lindsay communicates with the media, runs our social media pages and website, works with the Dean and faculty to publicize our research and expertise, works on alumni and development projects, sends out This Week @ Weldon and This Week in Brief (our weekly student and faculty email news roundups), and manages advertising and promotion for our school.

Talk to Lindsay if you'd like to:
* speak with a faculty expert
* run a listing in the newsletter
* get help promoting your law school event

Research Dean

   

Research Dean

Meinhard Doelle
Associate Dean, Research
mdoelle@dal.ca
902-494-1030
Room 408
 
  Tiffany Coolen-Jewers
Financial & Administrative Assistant
tcoolen@dal.ca
902-494-3333
Room 443
 

Sir James Dunn Law Library

   

Law Library Inquiries

    General Inquiries
t:
902-494-2124
e: lawlib@dal.ca
    Reference Inquiries
t:
902-494-2124
e:
lawref@dal.ca
  Anne Matthewman
Chief Law Librarian
anne.matthewman@dal.ca
902-494-2640
 
    >>Find out about the Law Library

Recent faculty distinctions & awards

> View more faculty news